Results 1 to 15 of 15

I just upgraded my 8100 to an 8120- I have T-Mobile with a data plan- ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    kshubert's Avatar
    kshubert no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5

    Question WiFi-only browser?

    Advertisement



    I just upgraded my 8100 to an 8120- I have T-Mobile with a data plan- and whenever I try and use the browser if I'm not using the WiFi connection, I get this error:

    "This is a Wi-Fi service. Please ensure your device has an active Wi-Fi connection and try again."

    Is there a way to get the browser to work using GPRS when I'm not connected to a WiFi network? Or some other workaround? Thanks.

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Check your brower settings (Brower / Menu / Options/ General Properties

    Set your default to Interner Browser

    See if that helps.....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    kshubert's Avatar
    kshubert no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    The HotSpot Browser is the only available option... might that be a T-Mobile specific issue?

  4. #4
    mocmylov's Avatar
    mocmylov no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    24ab2f41
    Posts
    48
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Have you tried resending your service books to your phone? Maybe the browser service book is not present?

  5. #5
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    You may want to try sending service books to yourself from the T-Mobile bis site or possibly going to options>advanced options>Host Routing Table and doing a register now.

  6. #6
    guienta's Avatar
    guienta no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    kshubert's Avatar
    kshubert no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    I was able to resend the service books from the website (though not from my phone) and that fixed it. Strange that the default browser was missing straight out of the box from T-Mobile. Oh well. Thanks!
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    C.Ambrosio's Avatar
    C.Ambrosio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    2581694A
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Check your brower settings (Brower / Menu / Options/ General Properties

    Set your default to Interner Browser

    See if that helps.....

    U R A LIFESAVER!
    Chardonnay Luv

    Taking one day at a time and becoming the person I know I can be.

  9. #9
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61
    It's the service books from the server that it needs, it wouldn't come out of the box. It just takes longer to get to some people.

  10. #10
    JoeOlson's Avatar
    JoeOlson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3
    What do y'all mean by service books? I'm having the same problem that the OP had - I go to the options in the browser and my only options are t-zones and hotspots.

  11. #11
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    Start by seeing which ones you have. Go to Options or Settings, however it's called,
    click Advanced Options and then click Service Book

    (That's on my 8100... it ought to be correct overall, though)

  12. #12
    JoeOlson's Avatar
    JoeOlson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3
    Heh, I ended up stumbling across a solution, but I still don't really understand the process that well. I can get on the internet for the wi-fi, but I still can't use AIM or MSN. I have t-mobile

    I have:
    t-mobile USA wap 2 browser config
    t-mobile USA wap 2.0 transport
    mms config [wap]
    wap push config [wap]
    wi-fi tcp/ip browser
    wi-fi tcp/ip transport

  13. #13
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61

    Service Books

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeOlson View Post
    What do y'all mean by service books? I'm having the same problem that the OP had - I go to the options in the browser and my only options are t-zones and hotspots.
    Service books let the provider such as T-mobile tell your phone what features it can and can not have. Everytime it connects to the BIS that you should be paying for, it downloads the service book to enable the browser. When you don't pay for it, you don't get the service book, so no browser, t-zones and hotspot browsers only at that point. But the OP's problem is really different, if you pay for the BIS service from your provider and have the problem the OP has, then you need to call T-mobile or whoever and have them send out your service books. It's about 20 a month extra for the BIS, some people don't realize how much they need it, or at least how much it adds to the experience of the Blackberry.

  14. #14
    JoeOlson's Avatar
    JoeOlson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks man, I appreciate it

    [I was going to reply to the PM, but apparently you need 10 posts to do so, heh]

  15. #15
    Firedragon64's Avatar
    Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6
    Posts
    61
    Lol I was afraid of that. I thought it might let you since it would be a reply, but you know, that's how forums work sometimes.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •