Results 1 to 9 of 9

What's the point in having wifi if the cell signal is faster than my wifi ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    egonzalez's Avatar
    egonzalez no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    2483198D
    Posts
    24

    wifi

    Advertisement



    What's the point in having wifi if the cell signal is faster than my wifi signal? I have the fastest available dsl from my att. Anyone else have the same problem?

  2. #2
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970
    I love having wifi at coffeeshops and other places where cell signal is sometimes spotty. And with TMO's Hotspot@Home, it doesn't use minutes when I'm on wifi.

  3. #3
    dclawyer's Avatar
    dclawyer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    109
    Your EDGE speeds shouldn't be faster than WiFi speeds.

  4. #4
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970
    Unless it's going through a slower dsl connection.

    Quote Originally Posted by dclawyer View Post
    Your EDGE speeds shouldn't be faster than WiFi speeds.

  5. #5
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344
    My home wifi is a lot faster than edge, on both Tmo and att. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    MBLBell's Avatar
    MBLBell no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    28
    my buddy just got an 8120 and he was wondering how you know if you are using WIFI and not getting charged data. is there a symbol that shows on the screen or what?

  7. #7
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by MBLBell View Post
    my buddy just got an 8120 and he was wondering how you know if you are using WIFI and not getting charged data. is there a symbol that shows on the screen or what?
    There's a little wi-fi logo that shows up on the screen near the top. It's kind of grayed-out when the antenna is on but not connected. When Wi-Fi is receiving data the logo is a solid black and white. Also, the little arrows that indicate upload and download that appear over top of the signal strength indicator appear and disappear significantly faster when Wi-Fi is working than when you're sending or receiving data over the regular phone antenna.

  8. #8
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344
    Instead of EDGE you see UMA. You can be connected to WiFi and not be on UMA. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    MBLBell's Avatar
    MBLBell no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    28
    right on i shall pass the info along...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •