Results 1 to 8 of 8

ok guys. i have really wierd problem here. whenever i use my pearl as a ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    kenau_reveas's Avatar
    kenau_reveas no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    31

    Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    Advertisement



    ok guys. i have really wierd problem here. whenever i use my pearl as a modem it connects and registers me on network fine. but it doesnt send and receive any packets after that? anyone knows what could be the issue here?

  2. #2
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    When was the last time you did a batt pull?
    phone on batt out 30 sec then back in.
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  3. #3
    schmunger's Avatar
    schmunger no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    317d7c77
    Posts
    197

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i have the same issue. Sometimes, I'll admit, its blazing fast but most of the time, its slow or not even working. I check my modem status and majority of the time, packets are sent but not received. Its only fast on my initial connection for the first ten minutes or so. Never consistent. Did everything already I could on the pearl, even played with the modem and port settings, no luck.

  4. #4
    schmunger's Avatar
    schmunger no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    317d7c77
    Posts
    197

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~also, you spelled weird wrong, hah, unless you did it on purpose. Just remember, almost all words, the rule is 'i' before 'e' except after 'c'. I only found a couple where that rule doesn't play. = )

  5. #5
    firepiper's Avatar
    firepiper no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24133d85
    Posts
    52

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~my problem is that it SAYS 115.2 kbs but the speed tests I run say anywhere from 22-46 kbs. Wtf?

  6. #6
    kenau_reveas's Avatar
    kenau_reveas no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    31

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    guys..i still havent received any good response regarding my issue. my phone connects properly but my internt doesnt work. not for a single minute. does anyone know whats the problem?

  7. #7
    Arcenannie's Avatar
    Arcenannie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F730AE
    Posts
    60

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    I had a similar problem. I previously had dialup with Earthlink. When I switched over to BB and started using my phone as a modem, I uninstalled Earthlink software. I could not open Internet Explorer page. Several calls to Tech over a couple of days, to include being esclated up to RIM specialist, and the issue was never solved.
    I did a system restore to a previous date prior to uninstalling Earthink software and have been problem free since. I have to look at the Earthlink icon everytime I hook up, but just something I have to ignore to get Explorer to display.

  8. #8
    thecarnivale's Avatar
    thecarnivale no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F811A7
    Posts
    7

    Re: Wierd problem when using pearl as a modem

    try using ping tests on CMD line, also make sure to call Tier 2 tech support...AT&T or TMo(you never stated you tried this option) believe it or not you may get what you need there. As Far as Firepipers issue...it depends on a ton of factors...Egde network vs. GPRS network yes it matters GPRS is SLLLLOOOOWWWW...users on the data line...settings in device(incorrect or comp issue)

    Another thing is that I just found out that the SOC code for Cingular to tether a BB to laptop or desktop is diffenrent than the BB personal Unlimited differnece in price you'll pay for it 29.99 for personal....tethered and on BB 75.00/month

    Hope this helps

    Chris
    mywirelessrep@mycingular.blackberry.net

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •