Results 1 to 13 of 13

ok so iwas wondering if any one can let me know if i can use ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    what website can i use to host my files?

    Advertisement



    ok so iwas wondering if any one can let me know if i can use any type of file host or internet website so i can host my pearl files online...
    i wanted to try and upload my old jar and jad files to see if i can install them on my pearl...but i dont know what website i can use how it works if some one can point me in the right direction please

  2. #2
    gqnyc's Avatar
    gqnyc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E627BC
    Posts
    22

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    PM ME ill host them for you just send me the files overrrr

  3. #3
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    check your pms

  4. #4
    rivviepop's Avatar
    rivviepop no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    http://www.php0h.com has free accounts, they support PHP and allow you to set your own .htaccess rules (needed for OTA setup). I've got some sample stuff here:

    http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/index.php?path=ota/

    ...and here's the .htaccess I use on their server at the top level to set the MIMEtypes correctly:

    http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/.htaccess

    It's a snap. Here's a blog post from yours truly to help you set it up:

    http://rivviepop.wordpress.com/2006/...bile-browsing/

  5. #5
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    Quote Originally Posted by rivviepop
    http://www.php0h.com has free accounts, they support PHP and allow you to set your own .htaccess rules (needed for OTA setup). I've got some sample stuff here:

    http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/index.php?path=ota/

    ...and here's the .htaccess I use on their server at the top level to set the MIMEtypes correctly:

    http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/.htaccess

    It's a snap. Here's a blog post from yours truly to help you set it up:

    http://rivviepop.wordpress.com/2006/...bile-browsing/
    hey thanks alot man! im testing this out right now..if i have any questions il make sure to ask you thanks again!

  6. #6
    rivviepop's Avatar
    rivviepop no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    Quote Originally Posted by clos36
    hey thanks alot man! im testing this out right now..if i have any questions il make sure to ask you thanks again!
    No problem -- one weirdness with php0h.com (specifically), they don't allow 'raw' directory browsing; it feeds you some dumb spash page. You need to have some sort of index.html, index.php, etc. in place for things to work. (they probably do this to discourage people from uploading tons of files just to share)

    I used that little 'snif' PHP script to do my indexes, but I'm sure there are a million others like it around. (snif works pretty sweet though, been using it for years)

  7. #7
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    quick question i was reading your tutorial and you wrote
    "In said subdirectory, create a file named .htaccess (note the leading . ) and put the following inside"
    where is that lol sorry im so new at this...im on my front control panel of my php0h website

    you said subdirectory ..is that where it says create subdomain manager?

  8. #8
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    Use geocities (or something like that) they are free LOL jk

    I myself have a few websites but I pay for all of them (for the hosting)

  9. #9
    rivviepop's Avatar
    rivviepop no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    Quote Originally Posted by clos36
    quick question i was reading your tutorial and you wrote
    "In said subdirectory, create a file named .htaccess (note the leading . ) and put the following inside"
    where is that lol sorry im so new at this...im on my front control panel of my php0h website

    you said subdirectory ..is that where it says create subdomain manager?
    Hola!

    No, that's something different I guess -- you need to fire up the Control Panel, then use the (new) File Manager to access your webspace like a filesystem, then make folders and subfolders (i.e. my /bb/ subfolder above). Personally I skip all the silly GUI tools and just use FTP to log in and do it old-school style.

    If you don't have an FTP client, download FileZilla (http://filezilla.sf.net/) - an open source S/FTP client that works great. Put in your credentials as supplied by the php0h team for FTP, and just do it all that way.

  10. #10
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    ok got it i created my subfolders and followed what you wrote...
    but now how do put the following inside?http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/.htaccess

    once i enter my subfolder how do i put all that stuff inside?

  11. #11
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    Quote Originally Posted by clos36
    ok got it i created my subfolders and followed what you wrote...
    but now how do put the following inside?http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/.htaccess

    once i enter my subfolder how do i put all that stuff inside? where?any detail steps?
    any one?

  12. #12
    clos36's Avatar
    clos36 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    rivviepop sorry to bug you so much but your the one helping me =/

  13. #13
    rivviepop's Avatar
    rivviepop no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: what website can i use to host my files?

    Quote Originally Posted by clos36
    ok got it i created my subfolders and followed what you wrote...
    but now how do put the following inside?http://rivviepop.php0h.com/bb/.htaccess

    once i enter my subfolder how do i put all that stuff inside?
    Create the file in Notepad or whatever, then simply upload it using FTP. If you plan on playing "host my files" any more, you should take some time and get the basics under your belt first -- this is pretty elementary...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •