Results 1 to 15 of 15

How can I find out what OS I am using on my BB and where ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Question what OS?

    Advertisement



    How can I find out what OS I am using on my BB and where would I go to update it or get the newest version?

  2. #2
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: what OS?

    Go to Options>About
    This will tell you what OS you are running.

    The latest can be found here: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...B42B2DBB8F27B6
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  3. #3
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: what OS?

    I found the OS and but I cannot seem to get it to load to my BB. I tried to follow the directions for getting it to the BB but it didn't work....what could I be doing wrong?

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: what OS?

    what directions are you using?

    These ones in #14 http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...on_issues.html

  5. #5
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: what OS?

    reddog187, I went to the link you posted and found something else that I am having a problem with that hopefully you can help me with. I lost my web browser icons.

    Problem: Installed a new or reinstalled an existing O.S. (Operating System) onto your device and now you can not send or receive emails nor access the internet.

    Solution: You need to reregister your device on the cellular network.

    Go to Options>Advanced Options>Host Routing Table. Click your trackwheel and choose "Register Now".

    You will then have a message in your inbox stating that your device has sucessfully been registered with the network.

    Within seconds (sometimes a matter of a few minutes), email will be active and a browser icon will appear on your homescreen, confirming that you are now receiving data service.

    *If by chance this doesn't work, just try again. If after 3 times it is still not successful, post on Pinstack and we will attempt to troubleshoot and assist you.


    I did try it 3 times but when I go to host routing table and click my track wheel, I don't get anything that says register now. HELP!!!

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: what OS?

    What do you see when you click the Trackwheel in the Host Routing table. When in the Host Routing Table itself, do you see a list of items that have carriername [xxxxxxx] where xxxxxxx is a 7 digit number?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    takadante's Avatar
    takadante no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24B2C963
    Posts
    441

    Re: what OS?

    When you get to Host Routing Table, press your MENU key and then click Register now. Clicking the trackwheel will just open whatever you were highlighting while in Host Routing Table.

    Good Luck

  8. #8
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: what OS?

    Ok, I found the register now and clicked it...I got an email stating "Your handheld has been registered with the wireless network" but still no icons for the internet. Also, I am getting an error message when I try to go to the help link. It says"Error starting net_rim_bb_help:Module 'net_rim_ecm ascript' not found......what have I done to my phone??????? HELP1!!!!!!!!!!

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: what OS?

    Hi Mom,

    Lets get you taken care of!

    1. Who is your carrier?
    2. What Op Sys are you running?
    3. Do you have a BB Data plan?
    4. What version of Desktop Manager are you running and did you install from a CD?

    Have you seen #7 in Reds FAQ thread?

    7. Lost Browser Icon (Can’t Read Media Files?)
    This is solution was found by our Stack Pro Rcbjr. I believe he deserves most of the credit.
    Problem on Some New BlackBerry Handhelds
    You can also check this thread by N8DBB
    How To: Get your browser/email back after O.S. Install/Reinstall

    Solution: Reinstall deleted module on handheld.


    You will need to download and install on your PC, the current or a later version of the handheld operating system and let Desktop Manager / Application Loader replace the missing module.

    You can find Blackberry OS here: Blackberry 8100 OS Software Links (by Carrier) [as of 26JUN]
    If you want it wouldn’t hurt to update your Desktop Manager to Service Pack 2 either.
    Find it here if you didn’t get it earlier. Blackberry Desktop Software V4.2 Service Pack 2
    Keep in mind that there is two different versions of Service Pack 2. One with the Roxio Media Manger and one without the Roxio Media Manger.

    If you need directions on updating/installing an OS that is located here:
    How to: OS 4.x Upgrade for your Blackberry
    Last edited by GaryF; 11-21-2007 at 05:04 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: what OS?

    Hi Gary,

    I hope you can help. I feel like I have totally screwed up my BB all because I tried to update my OS.

    1. ATT
    2. I think it is version 4.2.0.73
    3. If you are talking about an internet/media package, yes I do
    4. 4.2.0.14 and yes, I believe I did install it from a CD

    any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated
    Last edited by drusmom; 11-21-2007 at 05:10 PM. Reason: wasn't finished typing

  11. #11
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733

    Re: what OS?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Did you resend the service-book?

    HTH
    Peter

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: what OS?

    Mom,

    So tell us what happened, and what exactly is the problem we need to fix...did you have an Internet Browser icon that is now gone? Did you try to upgrade an Op Sys or hook up to Desktop Manger for the first time?

    Some older CD versions of DM were corrupt and would actually delete applications without warning. If this is your problem we can download the newest version at this link: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: what OS?

    Ok, here is what happened. I tried to update my OS and it seemed to screw everything up. My Browser icon is gone and I did try the tip in #7 3 times and it didn't work. This was the first time I tried to update my OS. Also, I cannot access my help on the BB, I get this weird error message. "Error starting net_rim_bb_help:Module 'net_rim_ecm ascript' not found. I am trying to install the service packs for the desktop manager and I am having problems there too! I feel like a complete IDIOT!!!

  14. #14
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: what OS?

    whoa....slow down....we will get you taken care of ...

    Browser Icon missing and help does not work, anything else?

    I am going to suggest you uninstall your Desktop Manager and download desktop manager from the RIM website. You can either get 4.2 or 4.3 -- if you use the media functions you will want 4.2 sp2 or 4.3 as these come with Roxio Media Manager - this is a lengthy download and install so be prepared. If you do not use Media / Video you can DL 4.2 sp1 which is a much smaller file and faster download....

    We are going to hope that the new Desktop Manager will reinstall the missing components....
    Last edited by GaryF; 11-21-2007 at 06:07 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #15
    drusmom's Avatar
    drusmom no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Re: what OS?

    YEAH!!!!!!!!!! It worked!!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you....you truely are a BB genius
    I really appreciate all your help...thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •