Results 1 to 12 of 12

I just got my 8130 today and decided to play around a bit with the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    genoist's Avatar
    genoist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3179F2D7
    Posts
    25

    VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    Advertisement



    I just got my 8130 today and decided to play around a bit with the GPS. The program that I used to test the GPS with was Spot. When the program runs, it says that the GPS is available, but will not find any data from it.

    Here is the work-around. I downloaded VZ Navigator (not sure if you have to subscribe or not, but my guess is yes) and ran it. I am not sure if you must chose a specific screen or not, but I selected the option to see a map of where I am. After doing that I hit the end button to put VZ Navigator into the background. Once this is done you can upen Spot and it will now be able to find your location data. Spot is the only program so far that I have tried, but I would guess that this would work with any program.

  2. #2
    xsists's Avatar
    xsists no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    30633759
    Posts
    30

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    Now try to delete the VZ nav and see if it still works. Maybe VZ nav unlocks the GPS but once its gone so is the GPS. Try this out and let us know!

  3. #3
    genoist's Avatar
    genoist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3179F2D7
    Posts
    25

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    I don't think that deleting VZ Nav will work. I have to have it running in the background for any GPS stuff to work. Once I close VZ Nav other software no longer has access to the GPS.

  4. #4
    tafaghodi's Avatar
    tafaghodi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    108

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    can you download vznav for free?

  5. #5
    genoist's Avatar
    genoist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3179F2D7
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by tafaghodi View Post
    can you download vznav for free?
    Yes you can download it for free. It doesn't work unless you pay the 9.99/month. I am not sure if you can use this work around without the subscription. Looks like we just need someone to give this s try with the download of vznav sans the subscription.

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    The GPS should work with out the program unless verizon crippled it some how.

    Does the 8130 have an internal GPS? Sorry not familiar with the specs.

    If it does, you should be able to go outside and go under Options>Advanced Options>GPS and refresh. It should find the satellites that way. Make sure you're outside and with a clear view of the sky. It might take a while.

  7. #7
    genoist's Avatar
    genoist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3179F2D7
    Posts
    25

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    The 8130 does have an internal GPS, but it is locked to VZ Nav

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    You sure? Do you have the option to go outside and try the refresh like I said above?

  9. #9
    genoist's Avatar
    genoist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3179F2D7
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    You sure? Do you have the option to go outside and try the refresh like I said above?
    There is no refresh option on the GPS screen. The only changable option on that screen is turning location on and off.

  10. #10
    xsists's Avatar
    xsists no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    30633759
    Posts
    30

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    I turned my GPS to location on and went into the maps program. It doesn't let you change the GPS option for it.

  11. #11
    genoist's Avatar
    genoist no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3179F2D7
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by xsists View Post
    I turned my GPS to location on and went into the maps program. It doesn't let you change the GPS option for it.
    BB Maps seems to be a lost cause since there is no option for changing the GPS source. Windows Live Search works great with this workaround.

  12. #12
    tafaghodi's Avatar
    tafaghodi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    108

    Re: VZW Pearl GPS Work-Around

    I downloaded vz maps last nights. I started it up and put it in the backround. I opened windows live and tried to get a gps fix nothing happened. I placed it on a window sill all night still nothing. I will take it outside and see what happens.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •