Results 1 to 13 of 13

I just got the new 8130from Verizon that has the VZ navigator built in which ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    nate255's Avatar
    nate255 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AD52A1
    Posts
    34

    VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    Advertisement



    I just got the new 8130from Verizon that has the VZ navigator built in which I also have activated but my blackberry has never been able to get my location with GPS does anyone else using this device have this problem?

  2. #2
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    Nate
    Make sure that you have a good clear line of site to sky (ie outdoors) and not under heavy tree cover.

  3. #3
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    Go outside and have a clear view of the sky. Try and refresh then just wait till it locates. Takes about 5-10 mins.

  4. #4
    nate255's Avatar
    nate255 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AD52A1
    Posts
    34
    I tried that but it just times out after 4 min with a message that reads "unable to aquire GPS"

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    are you sure you have a clear view of the sky?? Might take a couple of tries.

  6. #6
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    I concur with Reddog and add that even heavy cloud cover and/or solar flares can cause problems as well. Just like with a sat dish

  7. #7
    nate255's Avatar
    nate255 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AD52A1
    Posts
    34
    Yep no trees or clouds and I've tried for the past 3 days and Verizon tech support is useless to I wish I could use the GPS with the blackberry maps the VZ navigator is terrible

  8. #8
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    Nate is it the maps program or under Options>Advanced Options> GPS
    that you get this message?

  9. #9
    nate255's Avatar
    nate255 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AD52A1
    Posts
    34
    Its the maps program there is no option to test under GPS option alone and Verizon has the GPS locked so I can only use it with VZ navigator

  10. #10
    icancn2u's Avatar
    icancn2u no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    722

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    Ah, that explains it. If they have limited its functionality, I know no way around that.

  11. #11
    guyheavensent's Avatar
    guyheavensent no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    717cff09
    Posts
    548

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    stupid question, but thought i would make sure... did you turn location on in: options>advanced options>gps and turn location on? seems like an obvious thing, but i didn't see anything in these posts about checking that.

  12. #12
    caustic's Avatar
    caustic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    164

    Re: VZW 8130 GPS Issue

    Hry Nate try this.
    1) pickup BB.
    2) go outside away from cover, maybe walk to sidewalk.
    3) turn location on.
    4) start GPS app.

    ;-)
    5) face northwest.
    6) drop your drawers and cuss VZW for its proprietary OS tweaks.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    nate255's Avatar
    nate255 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AD52A1
    Posts
    34
    I decided that it just wasn't worth all the issues I cancelled my vzw acct and went back to tmobile and bought a curve no more issues. Vzw needs to shape up and get it together

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •