Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I'm annoyed with my 8100 as received calls are being forwarded to voicemail after only ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    patmustard's Avatar
    patmustard no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question Voicemail problems

    Advertisement



    I'm annoyed with my 8100 as received calls are being forwarded to voicemail after only 4 rings. I've sat for ages looking at all the options and reading the manual and there are no options to change it. Does anyone know how this can be done? (like on a normal phone).
    Last edited by patmustard; 01-10-2008 at 06:10 PM.

  2. #2
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Do you mean YOUR phone only rings four times, or does the person calling you only hears four rings???

  3. #3
    patmustard's Avatar
    patmustard no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Voicemail problems

    The 8100 rings 4 times and then it switches to voicemail. If I don't actually have the phone on me when it rings I usually miss the call and it's irritating me now. Any ideas?

  4. #4
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Have you tried Profiles>Advanced>Loud>Phone>Out Of Holster

    Those are the options to change your ringer, to change the amount of times it vibrates etc etc!!!

  5. #5
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Who's your carrier?? and Have you set up your voicemail??

  6. #6
    patmustard's Avatar
    patmustard no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Voicemail problems

    I've tried that one. You can change the ringer and the number of times it vibrates but not the total number of rings. If I set vibrate to 2 then I get 2 vibrates followed by 2 rings then it switches to voicemail.

  7. #7
    patmustard's Avatar
    patmustard no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Quote Originally Posted by beeshabo View Post
    Who's your carrier?? and Have you set up your voicemail??
    The service provider is Orange in the UK and yes, voicemail has been set up. I've been using the phone for a month now.

  8. #8
    RedVR6's Avatar
    RedVR6 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: Voicemail problems

    This drives me nuts too. I figured setting my phone at 3 vibrates and then a 20 second or so MP3 ringtone would work like my old Nokia where it would ring long enough for me to catch the call...I knocked the vibrates back to 2...and that helped a litte. Also set my voicemail (via the link below) to 30 seconds pickup...

    Seems to be a carrier thing though based on what I have searched on here.

    This thread might help you out: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...or_longer.html

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Try this...
    Depending on your carrier you may be able to set the number of seconds before your call goes to voice mail. You need to know your "voice mail number". If you are on TMO for example, you would dial **61*18056377243**30# where 18056377243 is your voice mail number, this should set your delay to 30 seconds. Try this with the Orange # and see if it helps.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Voicemail problems

    If Gary's suggestion doesn't work, you can also call your carrier. In most cases you can request that they set the delay to 30 or 60 seconds. This will increase the number of rings the other caller hears, however, so they may hang up before VM answers, since most people are used to a shorter period going to VM.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  11. #11
    patmustard's Avatar
    patmustard no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Try this...
    Depending on your carrier you may be able to set the number of seconds before your call goes to voice mail. You need to know your "voice mail number". If you are on TMO for example, you would dial **61*18056377243**30# where 18056377243 is your voice mail number, this should set your delay to 30 seconds. Try this with the Orange # and see if it helps.
    Gary, thanks mate that worked. How on earth did you find out about that? I've set it to 20 seconds and it works like a dream. Thanks again.

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Way too much time on my hands I guess .

    Glad it helped

    Cheers!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397

    Re: Voicemail problems

    Ooohhh...that's awesome!! How did you figure that out??? WTF

    GaryF you are the S^%$......

  14. #14
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Voicemail problems

    hehe, he's got nothing but time on his hands...

    wtg Gary, you da man...

    *cough* if you like him, treat him well *cough*
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  15. #15
    Mr.JeSs24's Avatar
    Mr.JeSs24 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    worked for me but did something different

    i just dialed it like it was a phone number and hit send. i got a message back saying that it was set.. it worked so im happy.. didnt work the other way for me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •