Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

I'm a noob, so go easy. When i try and use the voice dial, it ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    IndyAussie's Avatar
    IndyAussie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35

    Voice DIal

    Advertisement



    I'm a noob, so go easy. When i try and use the voice dial, it never selects the person i say, only others in my contact list. For example if I ask for Diane, it get Hendo, Brett etc. Noting even close to Diane.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    do you have an accent?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    IndyAussie's Avatar
    IndyAussie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35

    Voice Dial

    Not really, I'm from the midwest. Is it something to do with SIM contacts vs other contacts on the phone?

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Try this...change the language to one of the other English settings. This will re-initalize the data base. Then you can change back if needed.

    Options
    Language
    Voice Dial Language
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    ^^beat me to it
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  6. #6
    IndyAussie's Avatar
    IndyAussie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    I tired that(from another thread i read). It did the re-init, still no go.

  7. #7
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    do you say dee-an or die-an? try saying it like this-->die-an
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    i just tried saying diane as if it sounded like hendo...are you saying dieenuh?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    IndyAussie's Avatar
    IndyAussie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    Diane, just like it's spelled. If i go slower it seems to work a little better.

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    yeah you have to be pretty precise when saying a name.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    IndyAussie's Avatar
    IndyAussie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    I appreciate all the help. Maybe i was just expecting too much. Great forum for help, I'll be back.

  12. #12
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    you can try messing around with these settings and see if that helps

    menu>options>voice dialing>sensitivity
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  13. #13
    cgaliffi's Avatar
    cgaliffi no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    22D95A46
    Posts
    703
    I gave up on VAD when I was getting only about 50% of the names even when I changed the settings. I eventually deleted it to free up space.

  14. #14
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907
    Mine works fine. The trick for me was to organize my contact in a last name, first name situation. Then, I say something like "Call Smith, John mobile" it almost always gets it on the first try.

    Also realize that any background noise tends to really screw it up. I use it only with my bluetooth headset and turn the radio in the car off. Otherwise, I get odd things too. I've found that a voice isolating BT headset really makes a great deal of difference.

    Also, when you do get it right, listen to how it says the name and mimic that.
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  15. #15
    smarkow's Avatar
    smarkow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    57
    I completely stopped using the voice dialing. I think it is horrible and NEVER picked the right person. I also thought it was incredibly annoying that the voice dialing was a hot key. I must have it that damn button a million times. I changed that hot key to my calender. The time I spend trying to get the voice dialing to work is longer than it would take for me to go to my address book and type the name.
    I prefer just typing part of the person's name and choosing who I want to call. much quicker than the voice dialing

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •