Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Has anyone gotten this to work? I've gotten so far as to get the COD ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    pradaisgood's Avatar
    pradaisgood no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15

    vNES Emulator for 8100

    Advertisement



    Has anyone gotten this to work?
    I've gotten so far as to get the COD installed via javaloader in JDE, but it freezes loading a ROM.

  2. #2
    realcomix's Avatar
    realcomix no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    28

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~what!! Nes emulater for my freakin phone .. Where do I get that and I will do everythin in my power to get it workin on my 8100

  3. #3
    pradaisgood's Avatar
    pradaisgood no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    Not as easy as you think....or at least I thought.
    Still working on it, but it seems that the framerates are way too slow for consistent play. Either that or you speed up the game, which makes gameplay really skippy.

    www . vampent . com

    Try it out. Once you compile a .jar with vnes, you have to convert it to .cod with JDE.

    I got the v1.2 to work with the preinstalled (?) roms, but can't compile one with Mario Bros or FF or anything.

  4. #4
    HEXED's Avatar
    HEXED no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    85
    Can I access this site from my pearl & download it from it!?

  5. #5
    pradaisgood's Avatar
    pradaisgood no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    No. The trial is a .zip file, not including .jar file, which doesn't include the rom (emulated game), and even then it will not install like the familiar .alx executable.

    You will need the developer's Blackberry JDE in order to convert the .jar file you made with vNES makejar batch file to a .cod, then you can upload the .cod via command prompt (windows xp's USB).

  6. #6
    ButtersFoo's Avatar
    ButtersFoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    I have been working on this since I got the phone on September 18th.
    I decided to 'buckle down' the other day and get the damn thing working.
    I had the day off and it was raining outside, so why not.....

    I worked for 13 hours straight on it. Finally got the vampent app on my phone, up and running, but same thing... it freezes trying to load a rom.

    I have over 800 .nes files on my computer. I have tried them in all sizes. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. I am convinced that if I were a programming whiz, I would be able to get it working. I am pretty optimistic that it can be done.

    ...Glad someone created a thread about this here. Let's put our heads together and get it working. What's the smallest rom you all have tried? Also, we should be trying to load roms that didnt use a battery backup when they were original games.

  7. #7
    pradaisgood's Avatar
    pradaisgood no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    15

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    Still on it. Keep in mind, it's unlikely installing the .cod via javaloader will not make it appear in your applications' directory, making it more difficult to uninstall. And reinstalling (with perhaps different compiled roms) does not replace the previous version.

    I just had to use javaloader to wipe the entire OS (laziest way IMO) to get it back to normal.

    I'll do my best to keep you posted.

    edit: Something tells me that the zip executable does not work properly with the .class files. At this point the only way I can diagnose this is if I had a spare Nokia capable of the install. Which I do not.

    BTW, the older version with Galaga and Donkey Kong works so-so. It loads the roms, but the gameplay is crap.
    2cents.

  8. #8
    ButtersFoo's Avatar
    ButtersFoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    older version, as in 1.0? not 1.2? I am trying 1.2.

    and also, I wasnt loading vnes through javaloader.
    I did it by messaging it to my phone via email and then downloading and loading.
    I have the little blue icon in my application directory. I click it, it animates and loads.
    Then it gives me options.. activate, play, exit. After I click play, it freezes. I was about to purchase the $10 activation, but I doubt that will make much of a difference. Their site is lacking in support, big time, as you probably know. It seems the only phones this works well on are the Nokia 60 series?

  9. #9
    ButtersFoo's Avatar
    ButtersFoo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    In the meantime, I am addicted to the puzzle mode of Ka Glom.
    ....or, at least for another 3 hours.

  10. #10
    Ders's Avatar
    Ders no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e0cb95
    Posts
    21

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    Is there any source code out there for a java NES emulator? Possibly someone who is good with java can recompile something for the BB specifically. It would be great if it could run the same type of files your PC/PocketPC use.

  11. #11
    Pyrotek's Avatar
    Pyrotek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    I got it converted to a cod and installed with super pitfall working. The framerate isn't good. Almost playable.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    laz's Avatar
    laz
    laz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    244701B4
    Posts
    435

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    Quote Originally Posted by Pyrotek
    I got it converted to a cod and installed with super pitfall working. The framerate isn't good. Almost playable.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    WoW sweet keep it up, playing Mario on my Pearl would be sweet or any other nes game

  13. #13
    stallion5000's Avatar
    stallion5000 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    Any new updates with VNES for the Pearl? Has anyone gotten it to work well?

  14. #14
    jbenbenek's Avatar
    jbenbenek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    20D755F
    Posts
    10

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Ya I agree This would be totally awesome!

  15. #15
    sliptech's Avatar
    sliptech no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    27

    Re: vNES Emulator for 8100

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ll_wanted.html

    That thread talks all about the emulator. There's a relative concensus that it works but the framerates are such that you can't play effectively, changing speed helps but not enough. The best bet is to wait for a better version.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •