Results 1 to 9 of 9

VNC for pearl, ok so i downloaded VNC on my blackberry. I however have no ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Nicker's Avatar
    Nicker no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    20151205
    Posts
    30

    VNC for pearl

    Advertisement



    VNC for pearl, ok so i downloaded VNC on my blackberry. I however have no clue how to use it, i understand it is a remote desktop application. so I would like to know what to do to use it, I know the computer I am trying to remote into must have a vnc client installed. but once i do that how do i connect to it?

    on my pearl in the host field do you put the ip of the machine your trying to remote into?

    What do you use for the password a windows password or a password you configure in vnc on the remote machine?

    What does "Share desktop" checkbox do if checked?

    What does "NCM" checkbox do if checked?

    What does "Use http proxy" checkbox do if checked?

    I R A UBER NOOB I KNOW, ALL OF MY BASE ARE BELONG TO PINSTACK

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: VNC for pearl

    Im not sure bcuz I have never used that remote app, anyone else able to help out good friend.

  3. #3
    yellowone's Avatar
    yellowone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E6E30E
    Posts
    25

    Re: VNC for pearl

    Coming from a Network Admin...

    I have not found one useful remote control app for the blackberry as of yet. I have tried vnc and 2 others. They just end up being intolerable due to the screen size and controls and scrolling.

    I have however seen an app somewhere that allows you to administer services on servers remotely. That seems to be more acceptable although I haven't tried it out yet for effectiveness.

    If anyone has found a decent remote control app (since Netsupport-inc hasn't made a client yet) please let me know.

  4. #4
    Lowrider's Avatar
    Lowrider no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    1,418

    Re: VNC for pearl

    I am a novice on VNC, I had no problem w/ RDM+, from SHAPE Services. 1 week free trial @ shapeservices .com
    -----------------------------------
    Thx a lot!
    Low
    OSU Buckeye's # 1

  5. #5
    rabbie303's Avatar
    rabbie303 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    1,353

    Re: VNC for pearl

    I used VNC daily here at work but like yellowone said, i wouldnt think it would be good on the pearl. I know my boss has the curve and he can vnc and ssh into his home security and hvac systems and control it but other than that, I would think the lag time for it would be horrible and the screen just isnt big enough for something like that.
    ~Erich~
    ---60% of the time it works every time--




  6. #6
    Abouraya's Avatar
    Abouraya no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    48

    Re: VNC for pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by Lowrider
    I am a novice on VNC, I had no problem w/ RDM+, from SHAPE Services. 1 week free trial @ shapeservices .com
    This is a great app and is well worth the money, on the newest OS .101 this app works great, fast and easy to use!

  7. #7
    Lowrider's Avatar
    Lowrider no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    1,418

    Re: VNC for pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by rabbie303
    I used VNC daily here at work but like yellowone said, i wouldnt think it would be good on the pearl. I know my boss has the curve and he can vnc and ssh into his home security and hvac systems and control it but other than that, I would think the lag time for it would be horrible and the screen just isnt big enough for something like that.
    I guess it may depend on phone and os, but on my Pearl it is maybe, a 1-2 second delay. You can Password protect, also.
    -----------------------------------
    Thx a lot!
    Low
    OSU Buckeye's # 1

  8. #8
    rajeshpr's Avatar
    rajeshpr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    13

    Re: VNC for pearl

    i like dokorro.com as it supports both RDM and VNC connection and i also use RDM+.
    i have been using for a month and i love it. Cant beat it

  9. #9
    Kriv's Avatar
    Kriv no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    251239B6
    Posts
    36

    Re: VNC for pearl

    In response to the initial questions.

    Host
    Yes you need to enter your IP address. This will be your external IP address (which you can find using the ipconfig command on your PC) and not your home network one (I.e. 192.168.xx.xx)

    Password / ID
    This is either your windows / pc log on credentials, or the UserName and password you set up on the client.

    Share desktop is an option that let's you control the pc at the same time the user of the PC. Disabled it will give you exclusive access.

    As a tip use tight vnc on your pc as this has better compression.

    If you get stuck best thing to do is get on google.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •