Results 1 to 9 of 9

I've looked around and haven't found an answer on this: Does the vendor.xml file affect ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122

    vendor.xml question

    Advertisement



    I've looked around and haven't found an answer on this:

    Does the vendor.xml file affect the OS's interaction with the service provider,

    or

    Does the vendor.xml file affect the OS's interaction with the handset.

    I have an unlocked CSL phone that I'm using on the T-mobile network. Now that T-mo has an OS out for the 8120, should I just install it and go, or (probably more likely) do I need to delete the vendor.xml in order for the OS to work properly with my phone.

    Anyone have any idea?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    If your carrier is T-Mo and you install your OS from T-mo you can just go. Deleting the vendor file in that case won't improve the "proper" functioning of your phone.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    Don LuiG's Avatar
    Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    649
    you only delete that file if for example your phone is from att and you installing a tmobile OS



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122
    Awesome, thanks guys!

  5. #5
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    Beat me too it.

  6. #6
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122
    Strangely enough, I could not get the Desktop Manager to recognize the New OS and put it on the handset, despite several uninstalls of both the DM and the OS until I deleted the vendor.xml file. Once I did that, it worked as OS upgrades have worked in the past.

  7. #7
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    You can look at it as a "locked door"....you remove the lock (vendor.xml) and tada! The door swings open!
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    The vendor file is related to your device(hardware) not your current provider. Thats why you had this problem - if you had a TMO device and TMO software then no worries, but your CSL device would not be work with TMO's vendor file intact, even if TMO is your current carrier....

    Make sense?

    And no, it does not impact your performance or compatibility with your carrier.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    astroboy's Avatar
    astroboy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    252FE5C0
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    The vendor file is related to your device(hardware) not your current provider. Thats why you had this problem - if you had a TMO device and TMO software then no worries, but your CSL device would not be work with TMO's vendor file intact, even if TMO is your current carrier....

    Make sense?

    And no, it does not impact your performance or compatibility with your carrier.

    Thanks, Gary. That absolutely makes sense, and was my initial guess. I had been hoping that by not deleting the vendor.xml I might get simulscribe and opera mini working, as they have not worked under my current OS despite making sure I had the correct wap.voicestream.com string under TCP, etc. Google Maps and Google Talk work fine. Back to the drawing board on that one.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •