Results 1 to 7 of 7

from what i understand you do not have to set voice names for the person ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    420nyc's Avatar
    420nyc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    18

    VAD problems..

    Advertisement



    from what i understand you do not have to set voice names for the person you want to VAD.. if you do i have no idea where to do it.. i have been searching an searching the phone... how do i get VAD to work properly by "call NAME"

  2. #2
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: VAD problems..

    welcome to the stacks,
    no you don't have to train it like other phones, hit the button and say call ..... whoever you want, kinda cool!
    Also say check status. that gives you batt and signal strength
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: VAD problems..

    Button being the convienence key on the left side of your pearl ... and kayos is right - works great! Also will work with a BT headset, just hit the button on your headset and you will get the "say a command" prompt. Have fun!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    420nyc's Avatar
    420nyc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: VAD problems..

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    Button being the convienence key on the left side of your pearl ... and kayos is right - works great! Also will work with a BT headset, just hit the button on your headset and you will get the "say a command" prompt. Have fun!
    sorry i didnt make it clear.. i get that far.. the problem is it does not recognize any names i say =(

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: VAD problems..

    try this...go to Options>Settings>Language
    change your voice dial language to something new, save it, then change back. we want to force the program to re-initialize your data....
    (some folks even like the UK english version )
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: VAD problems..

    A few hints:

    Make sure you don't have a large amount of background noise, especially other peoples voices.

    You should try to speak clearly and annunciate. You are talking to a computer, however this one is really smart so don't go overboard, you'll get funny looks from people.

    If you can have a first and last name for each contact, it will help narrow it down.

    And one more time the command line is: Call [First Name] [Last Name] [Location] or Call [Number]

    You don't have to use the location, which would be Work, Home, Mobile, but it will help you get the number you want faster.

    Try saying 'Check' to the VAD, it will give you a menu of options such as battery, signal, etc. And if you say "Check Status" It will speak the results of all of those commands back to you.

    It does show all of this to you on the screen as you say commands but a lot of people just hold it up to their ear while saying the commands.

    Have Fun!
    Last edited by Kortanis; 06-21-2007 at 02:13 PM.

  7. #7
    420nyc's Avatar
    420nyc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: VAD problems..

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    try this...go to Options>Settings>Language
    change your voice dial language to something new, save it, then change back. we want to force the program to re-initialize your data....
    (some folks even like the UK english version )

    thanks alot guys,,, the uk version makes it work perfectly!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •