Results 1 to 13 of 13

First of all my laptop doesn’t say my Pearl is connected. I go threw the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Texas512's Avatar
    Texas512 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    307

    Using Pearl as a modem.

    Advertisement



    First of all my laptop doesn’t say my Pearl is connected. I go threw the DM setting and when I click connect threw USB it says it cant find it. Any ideas. Also dose using it as a modem cost? Use minutes? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Ranz's Avatar
    Ranz no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!
    Posts
    3,614

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    try scanning this thread, hopefully that helps. If it doesn't im pretty sure someone will answer, good luck!

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...em_laptop.html

    Gary any thoughts!

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Howdy Neighbor.....

    If you have a BB data plan TMO will not charge you for this. Lets start with the 1st issue - your desktop manager never connects to your pearl? What DM version are you running? Did you DL or load from CD? Are you connected directly to the laptop or thru a hub?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    Texas512's Avatar
    Texas512 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    307

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    It was a disk that came with the box. im not home so i cant say what version. Also im pluging the Pearl into the USB. I know it works because my ipod works fine.

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Tex -

    Before we can work on your BB Modem we must get your laptop and your pearl on speaking terms. Many of the CD versions of DM were buggy. I suggest you uninstall that one and download 4.2 from RIM:
    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22

    sp1 does not include ROXIO and is a much smaller / faster download. I have also noticed that my pearl does not like to be connected thru a hub, so suggest you are plugged directly into a USB on your laptop.

    Install the new DM and let us know if that solves your connection problem.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    Texas512's Avatar
    Texas512 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    307

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Should i Download DM 4.2? 4.2 SP1? 4.2 SP2?

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    If you want Roxio Media Manager included then use 4.2 sp2 - be aware it is a large file and a lenghty download. If you really dont plan on putting video on your pearl then just DL 4.2 sp1.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    Texas512's Avatar
    Texas512 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    307

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Thanks. I'll try that. Cant do it till tomorrow, but will post then.
    Last edited by Texas512; 08-28-2007 at 03:51 PM.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Let us know how it goes!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    Texas512's Avatar
    Texas512 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    307

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Is it worth doing it? Is the net Fast? Can i use the phone while it's going?

  11. #11
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Depends on your needs. I love it when I travel and I no longer pay hotels $10+ a day to access the internet. I have even used it in a moving car....speed is OK, not great. I have found it adequate for emails and light surfing but would not plan on any big downloads. At the end of the day once you get it set up it is hassel free and you have it if you need...

    You cannot use voice and data at the same time. It will disconnect when you take a call and reconnect after you end the call.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #12
    Texas512's Avatar
    Texas512 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    307

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    Ok thanks Gary. I really only need the net for Pinstack, Craigslist, and Yahoo mail. So i think ishould be good.

  13. #13
    EvilSnoopi3's Avatar
    EvilSnoopi3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: Using Pearl as a modem.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Is tryhering included in at&T's internet service plan? I pay for data separately since I'm on a family plan. I have my comp and phone set up and ready to go but I don't want to run up a huge phone bill. Thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •