Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 41 of 41

Reddog i didnt upgrade my DM will that ever be a problem or could always ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #31
    jloverg's Avatar
    jloverg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    263

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Advertisement



    Reddog i didnt upgrade my DM will that ever be a problem or could always go back and do it but when i check in my device info i was running the AT&t version

  2. #32
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    I'm just throwing out a guess, it might be the DM. I have SP2, running the OS upgrade gave me no issues whatsoever. I was "upgrading" (since there doesn't seem to be much difference) from the Rogers.

  3. #33
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Quote Originally Posted by jloverg
    Reddog i didnt upgrade my DM will that ever be a problem or could always go back and do it but when i check in my device info i was running the AT&t version
    Your DM(Desktop Manager) and your OS (Operating System) are two different things. So I'm not sure what you're getting at.

    You don't have to update your DM, but I always like to have the most up to date software for my devices. It's just because old software you sometimes run into conflicts with newer software.

    The latest DM is the one with service pack 2 and the Roxio Media Manager.
    The latest OS is the one from AT&T 1.96

  4. #34
    jloverg's Avatar
    jloverg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    263

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    i have the latest 1 because i was transfered to RIM there was a problem with my phone and they make me deleted all the bb files in my laptop and they wipe out my phone yeahp so i know i am using the sp2 if there is another a latest as of last week then no

  5. #35
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Quote Originally Posted by LaTuFu
    I'm just throwing out a guess, it might be the DM. I have SP2, running the OS upgrade gave me no issues whatsoever. I was "upgrading" (since there doesn't seem to be much difference) from the Rogers.
    yeah, i'm trying one more time, and if i get the error again...i already have the SP2 DM downloaded. i just don't like change when i don't need it. my current DM has been working great - i've upgraded multiple OS's with it too.

    EDIT: got the error. upgrading DM. will post afterwards to update.

    thanks for all the suggestions.

  6. #36
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Hope it works out this time. I refuse to sleep until your update is posted.

  7. #37
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Quote Originally Posted by LaTuFu
    Hope it works out this time. I refuse to sleep until your update is posted.
    haha! ok, here's the update - downloaded and installed SP2. installing .96, and (while it is still loading onto handheld) it is PAST THE POINT where it kept giving me the error! i'm assuming it is going to work.

    thanks for everyone's help. (note: if this problem happens to anyone else, stop being lazy and update the damn DM already! haha)

    i was reluctant to upgrade, but now that i have roxio, i might as well get used to using it.

    thanks again everyone.

    NOTE: and sign up for BERRYHUNT for this saturday!! it will be fun!! <-- did you like that plug?! haha.

  8. #38
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Yippy success

    Already signed.
    in case reddog didn't tell ya, apparently I smell funny
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  9. #39
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Glad to hear it worked for ya. Even though RD suggested it first, I'll take credit for nudging you to upgrade the DM. I'm sure he won't mind.

    Nice plug. Too bad I'll be out putting my Pearl to work Geocaching on Saturday, or I would join in! Maybe BH2

  10. #40
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    Quote Originally Posted by kayos72
    Already signed.
    in case reddog didn't tell ya, apparently I smell funny
    yep, you're on the list! as for you being smelly...should i even ask?! haha.

    Quote Originally Posted by LaTuFu
    Glad to hear it worked for ya. Even though RD suggested it first, I'll take credit for nudging you to upgrade the DM. I'm sure he won't mind.

    Nice plug. Too bad I'll be out putting my Pearl to work Geocaching on Saturday, or I would join in! Maybe BH2
    red did suggest it first, but (don't tell him), it was your nudge that put me over the edge...haha!

    its a shame you'll be busy...but look out for BH2 - it'll happen. geocaching should be fun, though!

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    OK - another question about memory saving after my upgrade ...

    anyone know what "Blackberry Attachment Service," "Blackberry MDS Runtime," or "DOD Root Certificates" are? any of them NOT necessary? they would be some nice space savers if i could get rid of them, but never really knew what they were...

  11. #41
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Upgrade Problem - Unspecified error encountered

    HA! I win again!

    Anyways the attachment service is for your email...probably don't want to get rid of that. The others I have no idea though.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •