Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Just wondering, I'm currently downloading the Rogers smartdesktop which I guess will update the phone ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    Advertisement



    Just wondering, I'm currently downloading the Rogers smartdesktop which I guess will update the phone once installed to the Rogers operating system? If I do this on my Unlocked T-Mobile 8100 Pearl will my phone be once again locked? I purchased it already unlocked off eBay and wanted to update firmware but to the Rogers one since I'm with Fido and the MAP feature don't work.

    Thanks I just wanted to know if upgrading OS from one provider to another affects the phones Unlocked status.

    Thanks I'm new at this

  2. #2
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    i just upgraded from TMO to Rogers tonite, and my phone looks to be still unlocked.

    in options > advanced options > sim card - if i type MEPPD, it still says:

    SIM: disabled
    Network: disabled
    Network Sublet: disabled
    Service Provider: disabled
    Corporate: disabled

    so i'm guessing doesn't matter

  3. #3
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    It will still be unlocked after the update. I have an unlocked tmo pearl on cin/att and I am running the rogers os

  4. #4
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    Ohh wow, super fast responses thanks I went on blackberry.com site and selected the pearl and Rogers, I guess this will update it to the Rogers OS
    Last edited by bunker; 05-27-2007 at 03:07 AM.

  5. #5
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    K now I have to figure out how to change the OS I downloaded the Rogers desktop manager but nothing happened to my BB.

  6. #6
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    this thread gave good instructions. worked for me. i had it updated in about 20 minutes, no problems.

  7. #7
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Did you install it on your pc? Did you go here and delete the vendor.xml file?
    Program files/common files/research in motion/app loader

    After that plug bb in and launch dm. Should recognize new os.

  8. #8
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    Thanks I'll give that a shot I think I also had to download the desktop software first which I'm doing now and let the Handheld software install for longer as I cancelled after about 5 mins

  9. #9
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    Tried updating to Rogers but after about 30 mins of updating it's still t-mo? What am I doing wrong?

  10. #10
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    The branding of your phone will not change. Did you follow the instructions? Like what Cherri said a couple of posts up? Install to PC, Delete Vendor.xml file, plug in BB.

    Where are you getting stuck at?

  11. #11
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    Yeah did it all, downloaded rogers version off blackberry's site, deleted vendor.xml file and plugged it in, it asked to update so I did. When I turn it on, it still says T-Mo and says welcome to T-mo message appears.

    I thought it should say Rogers after the update?

  12. #12
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    Sorry the branding of the phone is hardwired into it. You can never change that. It will always say TMO. At least you have the latest OS though.

  13. #13
    bunker's Avatar
    bunker no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    LOL so I guess no matter which OS you choose it'll always say T-MO and the differences are just updates? So really there is no difference when choosing Rogers or T-mo for updating if both have the same revision?

  14. #14
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    if they are both the same version OS, then your answer would be NO...

    it will NEVER change the branding of the phone, ever.

  15. #15
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: If I upgrade OS on 8100 from T-MO to Rogers will it still be unlocked?

    The updates/OS Versions are not carrier specific. So as long as the OS is for your device you can use it. Every OS comes from RIM themselves, it's just the option of the carriers to release a newer version of it if they care to. Some choose not to. That's why we're on these forums, we want the newer versions. I like having that option.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •