Results 1 to 14 of 14

I have T-mobile's 4.2 and I'm starting to hear that Cingular and Rogers is much ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    kwatson30's Avatar
    kwatson30 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    47

    Updating OS

    Advertisement



    I have T-mobile's 4.2 and I'm starting to hear that Cingular and Rogers is much better, but I'm scared that I'm going to lose everything if I go with another carrier, and I've seen a lot of talk about not getting my warranty if it messes up.

    So my question is, what's the difference? Will I see a change if I get Cingulars/AT&T's? Will I lose my apps that I have on T-Mobiles now (themes and etc)? And the big one... If it messes up, can I go back to T-mobile's and start from where I left off before I got AT&T's?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Updating OS

    You will definitely see a change... especially if you are on .64 just make sure you delete the vendor.xml

  3. #3
    micherooo's Avatar
    micherooo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    94

    Re: Updating OS

    You will not lose your apps. As you start the OS update, every app and settings are saved for the next OS upgrade. I don't lose messages, call logs, or anything. There may be a few things you might have to change. I had to change my TCP settings again (which is easy to just add wap.voicestream.com) and I have Colorpearl on my phone...but I don't use it, and every time I update, it turns on when I had it off!

    Just remember to backup in case you want to go back to your .64 or just load the .64 OS again. I know you probably see a lot of problems about OS problems, but it is a help forums so there are people here to help you and there are people that has has NO problems, it just doesn't get shown here. I have T-Mobile and I have gone from .64 to cingular's .73 and now Rogers .94. I may go to the .96 later as I watch what kind of problems people are talking about (so far, it seems promising!)

    I heavily disliked the .64 because of the memory leak issues. I have never had problems with .73 or .94. Some people complain about dropped calls, I never had that. The .94 has actually been flawless to me! Everything loads faster!

  4. #4
    kwatson30's Avatar
    kwatson30 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    47

    Re: Updating OS

    This is mostlikely a dumb question, but I can't backup my BB on the desktop manager. How do you do it? Also will I get some new apps if I get Rogers or AT&T, and will this update mess up my MyFaves?

  5. #5
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Updating OS

    kwatson - use desktop manager and the backup/restore function

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Updating OS

    Open up you DM and then plug in your BB. Then go to Backup/Restore.

    Not sure what you mean by new apps? New programs or Newer versions of the applications of the OS?

    No this will not mess up your MyFavs, you should be able to get them back. You will just need to re-register and re-send your service books after you update.

    Good Luck
    ~red

  7. #7
    kwatson30's Avatar
    kwatson30 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    47

    Re: Updating OS

    On my DM when I connect it won't let me click on any of the icons. It only will let me click on the taskbar.

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Updating OS

    Does it say that your BB is connected?

  9. #9
    kwatson30's Avatar
    kwatson30 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    47

    Re: Updating OS

    Yes it does. It says "working" if that means the same thing...

  10. #10
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Updating OS

    which version are you using?

  11. #11
    kwatson30's Avatar
    kwatson30 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    47

    Re: Updating OS

    4.2.0 14

  12. #12
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Updating OS

    really? My version is 4.2.2.14 [Apr 26 2007]

    you may want to update that....do you have the Roxio Media Manager?

  13. #13
    kwatson30's Avatar
    kwatson30 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    47

    Re: Updating OS

    ummm... really? haha I don't think mine is Roxio. At least there is nothing about Roxio on anything. You know where I can find the Roxio one?

  14. #14
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Updating OS

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22

    Grab the one with service pack 2. It's a big one so it may take a while.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •