Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25

Sarge, The OS install will not impact the stuff on your sd card. The back ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Advertisement



    Sarge,

    The OS install will not impact the stuff on your sd card. The back up and restore will take care of your email accounts, contacts, etc. (and some applications).

    Quote Originally Posted by vdragon
    How would I wipe out my previous OS? And is it necessary to delete the old OS?
    If you are referring to the OS on your phone you do not need to do / wipe anything. The upgrade will take care of that.
    Last edited by GaryF; 08-14-2007 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Automerged.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  2. #17
    vdragon's Avatar
    vdragon no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    If you are referring to the OS on your phone you do not need to do / wipe anything. The upgrade will take care of that.
    Oh okay. Cool thanks Gary

  3. #18
    antx16's Avatar
    antx16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    481

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Quote Originally Posted by vdragon
    Oh okay. Cool thanks Gary

    yes but to all who are not tmobile clients DO NOT FORGET TO DELETE THE "VENDOR.XML" file otherwise it will not work ;-)

  4. #19
    teleberry's Avatar
    teleberry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F8AB7F
    Posts
    92

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Quote Originally Posted by vdragon
    How would I wipe out my previous OS? And is it necessary to delete the old OS?
    No need to wipe your OS from the handheld.
    I seemed to have better luck if I uninstalled the old OS from my desktop beore installing the new. Just open the old download version, like you did to install it in the first place, and it will give you the option to uninstall. Then install the new OS to your desktop.
    As I said, I don't know if this really is impoortant, but since I started doing this all OS installs have gone without a glitch.

  5. #20
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Quote Originally Posted by teleberry
    No need to wipe your OS from the handheld.
    I seemed to have better luck if I uninstalled the old OS from my desktop beore installing the new. Just open the old download version, like you did to install it in the first place, and it will give you the option to uninstall. Then install the new OS to your desktop.
    As I said, I don't know if this really is impoortant, but since I started doing this all OS installs have gone without a glitch.
    Actually this is important. IF you have an old OS on your desktop it is best to uninstall before you upgrade. You can allways keep the download file you installed the ols OS from if you are a little weak at heart
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #21
    bofeity's Avatar
    bofeity no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    101

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Mine is taking about 20 minutes on the "wait for device initialization" section on the install... with the hourglass still doing it's thing...

  7. #22
    antx16's Avatar
    antx16 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    481

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Quote Originally Posted by bofeity
    Mine is taking about 20 minutes on the "wait for device initialization" section on the install... with the hourglass still doing it's thing...
    well just be patient and do not disconnect or do a battery pull it could take 40 minutes

  8. #23
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by bofeity
    Mine is taking about 20 minutes on the "wait for device initialization" section on the install... with the hourglass still doing it's thing...
    It will take a while be patient. Takes about an hour to update.

  9. #24
    bofeity's Avatar
    bofeity no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    101

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    Worked like a charm! much faster and smoother than the .64 lol and no more memory leak? wonderful!

  10. #25
    bofeity's Avatar
    bofeity no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    101

    Re: Update to TMO .103 and now nothing works ...

    This version has an option to put Reserved Pictures Memory to 0mb... is that ok to do? I have a 2gig card that I use for all of my pictures/movies/music/etc...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •