Results 1 to 9 of 9

How is it going guys. I ran into a little bit of confusion when following ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    ryanwasko's Avatar
    ryanwasko no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Unlocking T-Mobile Pearl for AT&T Service

    Advertisement



    How is it going guys. I ran into a little bit of confusion when following the steps to unlock my Black Berry Pearl. Mine recently broke and I bought one on ebay. It is a T-Mobile Model with a red ball. (that is actually kind of annoying on its own. Is there anyway I can replace the ball with the one that was on my pearl?)

    Anyways I use AT&T service. I got to the unlocking menu on the pearl. (I am talking about the SIM Card menu where it says Sim- Disabled; Network- Disabled; Network Subset- Disabled; Service Providr- Disabled; Corporate- Disabled; Cell Phone Number.....)

    Now I can't change these options and I don't know where to get my Unlocking Code from.

    If anyone knows what my next step is please let me know. Do i call AT&T for the unlock code or what?


    Thanks a lot for your time in advanced!

  2. #2
    kingrykku27's Avatar
    kingrykku27 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    2444409C
    Posts
    568
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yeah call them and request an unlock code.

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Ryan,

    IF your device is locked, you will most likely need to use a pay service to obtain the code ( I do not believe that AT&T can unlock a TMO device). Now if your SIM card menu shows all Disabled then the device is already unlocked and should be good to go. Have you tried your ATT Sim Card yet?

    Red Pearl on a TMO Phone? It sounds like someone colored it with a sharpie. You can swap the trackball out. See Reds post for details on How:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com..._pictures.html
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    vel4769's Avatar
    vel4769 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    67
    In regards to the ball (Pearl Ball)being red. Is the ball itself solid red or the light illuminating from it red? If it's the ball (pearl ball) you can have it replaced by buying it online. If it's the light illuminating from it being red. You probably have the application color pearl on it. You can change the color on it by going to options and choosing the color pearl application.
    In regards to obtaining the unlock code for your phone. You might have to go to tmobile being it's a t-mobile phone. I doubt AT&T will unlock another carrier's phone. You can attempt it but I tried getting a unlock code for a nokia phone. Tmobile told me if it wasn't a t-mobile phone they wouldn't provide a unlocking code. You can check the forum on unlocking BB 8100 or pay a website to remote unlock your phone. It may take a day or two. Good luck.

  5. #5
    ryanwasko's Avatar
    ryanwasko no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks to everyone for the quick responses.

    I have tried the SIM card in the phone. I can make calls and send and recieve text messages but I can not use anything like Facebook App, Web Browser, Google Sync.

    It says "Login failed, Your phone does't support end-to-end secure connections. In order to protect your data, Googly Sync cannot be used at this time."

    In opera I get this error when trying to access any website:

    "Failed to connect to he internet.
    100
    java.io.IOException: Open tunnel-failure"

    Anyone know why this is happening. Voice works fine, but anything requiring Data gets messed up.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Have you activated a BLACKBERRY data plan with AT&T?

    Also you will need to enter the correct APN settings before most 3rd party apps can access the internet.


    BTW if voice works your device is unlocked.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    ryanwasko's Avatar
    ryanwasko no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    OK great, so its unlocked. I just swapped out the ball from my old blackberry with this one. And its a beautiful glowing blue just the way I like it.

    Activated my previous blackberry 8100 with AT&T but I never did any activation with the new device. And can you tell me exactly how i correct the APN settings?

  8. #8
    ryanwasko's Avatar
    ryanwasko no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    I configured the APN settings for AT&T specs on my new T-Mobile phone since my carrier is AT&T. All i could find under the APN post is that for AT&T I use 'proxy' as the TCP menu in the APN setting.

    This really doesn't seem correct and it still doesn't let me use 3rd party internet apps.

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Ryan,

    Try this, and I believe it is case sensitive:
    APN:wap.cingular
    Username:ISP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    Password: CINGULAR1
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •