Results 1 to 12 of 12

I just received an unlocked T-Mobile Blackberry Pearl. I was able to insert my Cingular/AT&T ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    toadie's Avatar
    toadie no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2

    Unlocked BlackBerry Pearl Carrier Software Issue

    Advertisement



    I just received an unlocked T-Mobile Blackberry Pearl. I was able to insert my Cingular/AT&T sim card and get the phone to work without any issues. I completely removed the T-Mobile Handheld Software using JL_Cmder and I installed AT&T's handheld software.

    For some reason the AT&T Software will not install; it hangs, completes but still no OS (507 Error). The only way i get the phone working is by installing T-Mobiles Handheld software. I was able to install AT&T's handheld software on top of the T-Mobile software but nothing changes, still T-Mobile Logo when unit is turned on and browser states T-Mobile when started.

    Any advice on how to get this working? Its not a big deal since the phone is working correctly but i wanted to understand why AT&T's software will not install correctly.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    monica.simons's Avatar
    monica.simons no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME
    Posts
    2,396

    Re: Unlocked BlackBerry Pearl Carrier Software Issue

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I am having sort of the same problem, so if anyone can help us both, that would be great. I have the same phone and switched carriers, got the unlock code and ported the numbers. Have new sim card and it shows my new carrier for coverage. I want to update the OS but can't get it to work either. BUT.. My problem is that I tried deleting the OS from my desktop to remove old carrier and dl'ing new OS. My computer won't let it. Somewhere in the computer the old one is still there, I even searched hidden files! New dl gets so far and says unable to complete please try again later, and when I try to remove the old one that shows up on add/remove programs it says location can't be found or something like that! AHHHHH!
    So basically I still have old cell one OS on device, with no way to back up device because I deleted so much that comp and BB can't detect each other! I just want OS from appropriate carrier! Help

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Unlocked BlackBerry Pearl Carrier Software Issue

    For both of you -- Did you delete the vendor.alx file on the NEW VENDOR software after you installed it on your desktop? Toadie - it sounds like your install may have worked, check the software that has loaded by holding down ALT and typing EACE . Look at App Version, or under OPTIONS>ABOUT

    Also the Logos on start up are in the firmware and you cannot remove them nor are they important to the issue...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    rpriestley's Avatar
    rpriestley no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2

    Installing Tmobile Firmware On My AT&T Blackberry Pearl

    I got tmobile service and I have my old blackberry pearl from at&t, Could any body tell me how to install tmobiles Firmware on it so it will work with out unlocking.

  5. #5
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    You have to have the phone unlocked to use it with another carrier.


  6. #6
    rpriestley's Avatar
    rpriestley no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2

    Unlocking

    ok thanks

    Does anybody know how to generate the Unlock Code

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Contact your wireless service provider and tell them you are travelling and need to unlock your phone.


  8. #8
    laz's Avatar
    laz
    laz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    244701B4
    Posts
    435
    can someone point me to a guide, I have an unlocked Pearl and want to update it and keep it unlocked. I hear there is a special way you have to install? remove an .axl? thx

  9. #9
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    Nope. Once unlocked always unlocked. Just be sure to delete the vendor.xml file after you dl and install the OS on your computer. Upgrading os will not relock your device.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    laz's Avatar
    laz
    laz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    244701B4
    Posts
    435
    Quote Originally Posted by jfcooley View Post
    Nope. Once unlocked always unlocked. Just be sure to delete the vendor.xml file after you dl and install the OS on your computer. Upgrading os will not relock your device.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    sweet thx good to know, can you suggest what I should install plz? there is so many to choose from.

  11. #11
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    That I can't. Haven't had a pearl In quite awhile. May check out other threads, I'm sure someone here can hook you up. Have fun.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    ChrisAG's Avatar
    ChrisAG no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    24b2cf00
    Posts
    123
    Take a look at the latest 8100 OS thread, that'll give you an idea of what issues we have had... but 4.5.0.124 is what I'm using now I liking.
    The joy of life is increase by sharing it with others.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •