Hi everybody, BB noob here with a question about an 8120 I recently purchased. I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

iN10Se no está en línea Stack level 1

Question Unlocked BB 8120 Problem

Advertisement

Hi everybody,

BB noob here with a question about an 8120 I recently purchased.

I purchased it second hand off of someone at another forum. The description stated "unlocked" so I jumped on the offer. I received it earlier today and it isn't recognizing my Fido sim card. I did the whole MEPD sequence in Advanced Options of Sim Card and it says that the Network is Active, which means it is indeed locked? I contacted the seller and he assured me that he had it working, so he definitely didnt try to pull a fast one on me. This particular 8120 has a Rogers firmware on it as well, which I dont quite get (mainly because Rogers doesnt even carry the 8120). Im not sure what the previous carrier is either (The housing is unbranded).

Any help or information on how to get this working or where to go from here will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

PS. It is indeed an 8120 as well, WiFi works like a charm.
    Attached Images Attached Images

penpower no está en línea Stack level 3
    1. the seller either lied about the phone being unlocked or he didn't know what he was talking about. If the network lock is active, then it is locked.

2. I guess the seller unlocked the rogers theme that came with the OS, so you "though" it has rogers branded OS/firmware. The carrier's logo first comes up when you boot your 8120 is the original carrier that phone is locked to. I highly doubted the first boot up screen shows Rogers logo as Rogers only carry 8110 as we speak. BTW, do you see any other carrier's logo on the bottom? it should have something like "tmobile", "att", "O2", and etc.

Contact the seller and state what I mentioned above. If he can't get it unlocked, demand for refund or at least partial refund due to cost of getting the unlock code yourself.