Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hi I am getting the following error on my 8100 [FONT='Franklin Gothic Book'] Uncaught exception: ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    laura131177's Avatar
    laura131177 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

    Uncaught Exception

    Advertisement



    Hi

    I am getting the following error on my 8100


    [FONT='Franklin Gothic Book']Uncaught exception: java.lang.Classcas Exception[/FONT]

    I plugged it into the USB and I now randomly get the app error 523 message as well now.

    Does anyone know how to fix this? When the java error comes up it doesn't allow me to do anything with the phone at all and it displays as soon as it turns on.

    Thanks

    Laura.

  2. #2
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    Hey Laura, is this a brand new Pearl? or did you by chance to a OS upgrade?
    SP[B]
    Sportin a kBerry Curve

  3. #3
    laura131177's Avatar
    laura131177 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    It's second hand, bought it from someone today who claims never to have had a problem with it before

  4. #4
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    DID you do a battery pull? keep it out for 30 sec then pop it back in and let the OS reload.... If it keeps happening you could always do a reload of the OS system....
    SP[B]
    Sportin a kBerry Curve

  5. #5
    laura131177's Avatar
    laura131177 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    Yep - saw a few posts on here re the battery so have had it out for a while, still no luck

    I am really new to this, and went to do a reaload of the OS system and wasn't too sure what I should be choosing.. can you help with that?

  6. #6
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    Follow this step by step making sure you pay attention to # 13

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...uter_wont.html

  7. #7
    laura131177's Avatar
    laura131177 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    When I purchased the phone, I asked if there were any discs etc.. that I would need and was told no, they were given a USB cable and all they did was plug the phone to their PC and it worked. However when I do that - it doesn't install desktop or handheld software at all.

    When I do plug the device in all I get is an icon and when I go to it - the only option is to safely remove hardware!!

    Am I doing something wrong?

  8. #8
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    yes...you need internet access on your computer @ home...from there go to T-mobile's website and download both the new OS for your phone and the newest Desktop Manager.

    You need those two programs in order to do anything to your phone. First uninstall any and all versions of the OS or DM you have as these can muck up future installations...after doing so install DM first and attatch your phone via USB and see if DM recognizes your device...if you already have information on your BB make sure you back it all up before moving on to upgrading your OS as this completely wipes the device and installs a fresh OS...don't worry if you backed-up your device all will be restored after the OS installs...hope this helps...post back here or PM me if you need more help

  9. #9
    Yogich's Avatar
    Yogich no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    417

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    As for the UE problem, I hardly ever had that prob while using OS 4.2.0.64, but have had many of them with 4.2.1.107. It is definitely a bug, since apps which NEVER had this prob... Now have it, sadly. :-/

  10. #10
    gezim's Avatar
    gezim no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    53

    Re: Uncaught Exception

    i got that on aim (oz msgr)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •