Results 1 to 13 of 13

I know there are several similar threads out there but I wanted to post the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    dandelos's Avatar
    dandelos no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    Question Trying in vain to resusitate my 8100

    Advertisement



    I know there are several similar threads out there but I wanted to post the specific details regarding my situation and not hijack anyone else's thread.

    How the ish hit the fan:
    -Plugged in my phone to laptop in attempt to tether
    -DM says I have an update available, I think "sure, why not"
    -Half-way through the update it fails, citing "multi-stage load operation error"

    Result:
    -seemingly 'bricked' phone, with just an intermittently-flashing red LED
    At this point I searched several forums and did some research, and the message I got was that I would have to reload my OS. Saw some information on running JL Cmder, but decided to try the Application Loader router too.

    Resolution attempt #1:
    -plugged in phone (without its battery) via USB
    -after repeatedly 'moving' the USB cable in an attempt to coerce the computer to recognize the phone, it finally does
    -in Device Manager I see the phone is detected as "Blackberry Smartphone" or something like that

    At this point I see that both the (1) Application Loader accessed directly from my desktop shortcut, as well as the version (2) I initiate via "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader -> loader.exe /nojvm" detect my phone as indicated by "USB/unknown" or something like that.
    I decide to attempt the OS reinstall via option (1) as stated above.

    -I click Application Loader
    -select "Start" button for "Update Software" [Question: isn't the app loader supposed to detect the available OS upgrade automatically? I have previously downloaded and installed the Rogers 4.5 version onto my computer]
    -select my phone via "USB/unknown"
    -select the 4.2 OS and hit 'update'
    -it runs well for a while, checking for "software updates" and then "removing applications" and then installing some stuff, but upon "attempting to initialize" it errors out with "multi-stage load operation error" again!

    I look at my phone, and all of a sudden I now have the 507 error, and my computer keeps telling me "detecting" at the bottom right that it has found new hardware "RIM Virtual Serial Port v2", "RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM4)", and "RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM5)". Rebooting my computer doesn't stop this nuisance either. The only way seems to be to 'disable' COM4 and COM5 via my device manager. [Question - what's going on here, will I need them enabled to restore my OS?]

    Resolution attempt #2:
    -After miraculously getting the phone detected by the computer, I tried "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader -> loader.exe /nojvm" this time. But near the end I got an error message saying it failed to initialize or something like that.
    What do I try next? :? Thanks in advance...
    Other notes:
    -I made sure vendor.xml was deleted before trying to restore the OS
    -I have also tried running JL CMDer but I think it's pointless since error 507 indicates I don't have an OS, right?

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    My first question will have to be what version of Desktop Manager are you running.

  3. #3
    zaynsizmame's Avatar
    zaynsizmame no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    54
    Whoa! There are a lot of good people on here that can help you but that "507"means isn't looking good at all. Yes, it does mean that the OS is gone. I don't have any advise to help you. I'm sure moderncowboy can give you some tips but I will wish you luck in getting your Berry fixed...

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I was gonna ask if the USB port on the phone was loose because of the comment about having to wiggle the USB cable around to get the PC to recogize the phone.


  5. #5
    dandelos's Avatar
    dandelos no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    My first question will have to be what version of Desktop Manager are you running.
    I downloaded and installed the latest version, 4.7.

  6. #6
    dandelos's Avatar
    dandelos no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I was gonna ask if the USB port on the phone was loose because of the comment about having to wiggle the USB cable around to get the PC to recogize the phone.
    I do think it is a little faulty, because I always have to jiggle it around before it connects. This may or may not have caused the initial problem I had at the start, but during my resolution attempts I made sure that the phone and its cable were not touched or moved in any way. But as mentioned above, it still errored out eventually..

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I had that happen 2 years ago and now it's shown up again on my new 8120. The USB port on the BB is very delicate and can break easily.


  8. #8
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by dandelos View Post
    I downloaded and installed the latest version, 4.7.
    This is probably where your biggest issue is coming from. Uninstall it then go into c/program files/common files and delete the research in motion folder. Reboot and then download and install DM 4.5 or.6. Restart again and see if this does the trick. To many issues with 4.7.

  9. #9
    dandelos's Avatar
    dandelos no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I had that happen 2 years ago and now it's shown up again on my new 8120. The USB port on the BB is very delicate and can break easily.
    With my phone in a 'standing upright' position, I find that I have to force/push the mini-usb cable 'into' the phone, and also in a downwards direction, in order to get a connection. I now carry a thick rubber band with my USB cord to facilitate this.

  10. #10
    dandelos's Avatar
    dandelos no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    5

    Fixed!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    This is probably where your biggest issue is coming from. Uninstall it then go into c/program files/common files and delete the research in motion folder. Reboot and then download and install DM 4.5 or.6. Restart again and see if this does the trick. To many issues with 4.7.
    So I finally got my Pearl up and working again, after almost a week of agony. I did follow moderncowboy's advice, but I think the key was another step, which I will detail below --

    Here's what I did.

    1) uninstalled DM4.7 (this also fixed the annoying virtual serial port issue)
    2) deleted/uninstalled the BB4.2 and BB4.5 versions I had previously installed onto my computer (I wanted a fresh start)
    3) downloaded and installed DM4.5, per moderncowboy's advice
    4) installed BB4.5
    5) removed the vendor.xml file
    6) with my phone disconnected, put in the battery for a split second until the solid red LED showed, then connected the mini-usb cable to my phone and at the same time took the battery back out (this seemed to be the only way to make my PC 'detect' my phone)
    7) ran Application Loader, which detected my BB4.5, and updated my phone's OS/software/apps
    8) near the end (and I think this was the key step I was missing earlier), when the app loader says something like "connecting to phone" or something like that, I put the battery -back- into the phone
    9) this seemed to initiate the installation of the phone's core modules, a 10 minute process or so
    10) after that I got the rotating hourglass thing on my phone's screen, and after waiting about 20 minutes or so, VOILA!!

    Now I have to go through the painstaking task of re-customizing my phone with themes, wallpapers, and apps, but hey, almost anything is better than a brick/paperweight. Also wonder if I'll stick with my Pearl since my contract is up in 2 months and I'll be eligible for an upgrade then....thanks to all who helped!
    Last edited by dandelos; 12-08-2008 at 04:38 AM.

  11. #11
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    no question there...you should definitely upgrade from the pearl to either the curve or storm or bold...glad you got everything working and kudos to moderncowboy for being there during the crunch

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Glad you got it going and if it was me I would upgrade.

  13. #13
    JCG3's Avatar
    JCG3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    306
    I would leave 4.5 os alone. I tried it on mine and it was just a pain. Wait you get a newer device before you go shoving an os version that is way to resource intensive on the phone. Its like forcing a 5 year old dell to run vista. Not going to happen.... Or it will be very bad experience. The pearl was designed to handle 4.2. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •