Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

i have an 8120 w/tmobile and is it just me or does anyone find it ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    syn92's Avatar
    syn92 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac9d95
    Posts
    182

    trouble removing SIM card?

    Advertisement



    i have an 8120 w/tmobile and is it just me or does anyone find it EXTREMELY difficult to remove the sim card? am i doing something wrong or does anyone have any tips?

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Are you sliding the little metal thing to unlock it?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    syn92's Avatar
    syn92 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac9d95
    Posts
    182
    i can't slide the little metal thing on my 8120...it's fixed...

  4. #4
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Go here:

    http://www.blackberrypearl.com/8120demo/

    It has a really good demo for 8120. The SIM card demo is in the beginning so you don't have to go through everything if you don't want to.

    It says slide SIM card, so I guess try sliding it out carefully.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  5. #5
    syn92's Avatar
    syn92 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac9d95
    Posts
    182
    you are so helpful i added you as a buddy!
    i am sliding it out carefully, but it seems as if i have to use a lot of force...a very snug fit...sooo i was thinking i was doing something wrong...but i guess it really just has no give?

  6. #6
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by syn92 View Post
    you are so helpful i added you as a buddy!
    i am sliding it out carefully, but it seems as if i have to use a lot of force...a very snug fit...sooo i was thinking i was doing something wrong...but i guess it really just has no give?
    Yeah I didn't know the SIM card thing wasn't like the one on 8100 so I went and checked.

    I think for the 8120 its just a careful slide in/out process.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  7. #7
    syn92's Avatar
    syn92 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac9d95
    Posts
    182
    i'm thinking i'll just upgrade to 4.5 on my 8120 now, so i don't have to switch between my 8100 anymore...i'll take the plunge...

  8. #8
    SuicideUZI's Avatar
    SuicideUZI no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by syn92 View Post
    i have an 8120 w/tmobile and is it just me or does anyone find it EXTREMELY difficult to remove the sim card? am i doing something wrong or does anyone have any tips?

    same here, i had the 8100 before and it was about 100 times easier to remove the SIM card from that device. Its not hard to put a SIM card into the 8120 but taking it out is a major pain, I hope i dont have to do it again.

  9. #9
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~im glad you got it out. And lucky the 8120 is a little different than the8100. The 8120 doesn't have the sliding door cover for the sim. Not sure if you realized. *wink*

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyxedge View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~im glad you got it out. And lucky the 8120 is a little different than the8100. The 8120 doesn't have the sliding door cover for the sim. Not sure if you realized. *wink*
    Didn't realize at first but figured it out when I saw the demo lol.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    Lol. Okay just making sure. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by syn92 View Post
    i have an 8120 w/tmobile and is it just me or does anyone find it EXTREMELY difficult to remove the sim card? am i doing something wrong or does anyone have any tips?

    You're not the only one having problems. I had problems also. I thought that since the SIM card holder was made the same as the 7100 series, it would be as easy. I have a 1/2 inch gash on my SIM card (thankfully it still works) from my attempts to remove it from the phone.


  13. #13
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    I've experienced the same issue. What I do that helps a lot is to use a piece of scotch tape placed on the sim, to help "pull" it straight out. There tends to be just enough side to side play in the holder for the sim chip to get crooked and that creates extra friction and drag when trying to remove it by hand. The tape gives you the ability to manipulate the card when sliding it. For me it made a huge difference.

    For my BlackBerry it saved it from the "hammer"....ha...ha...ha.....


  14. #14
    syn92's Avatar
    syn92 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac9d95
    Posts
    182
    Yeah...I'm trying to limit my exchanges so I don't totally scratch up my sim.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by syn92 View Post
    Yeah...I'm trying to limit my exchanges so I don't totally scratch up my sim.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    No worries about how many times you swap your sim. I was concerned about this when I was new. Then read it's not an issue. So I began swapping mine everyday between two BB's. Sometimes on the weekend it gets swapped 5 or 6 times.

    After a year of this, the sim is still just fine. So it's really just a matter of not forcing it. Also the more you swap it the easier it will be.

    Cheers


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •