Results 1 to 12 of 12

Does the 8100 change the time automatically when you switch over to a different time ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    tkolgen's Avatar
    tkolgen no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    304A9987
    Posts
    56

    Time Zone Changes

    Advertisement



    Does the 8100 change the time automatically when you switch over to a different time zone when you travel?

    If so please help mine didn't work

  2. #2
    ddn79's Avatar
    ddn79 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    21

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    On the initial setup you should have to set it up for network time. I fly every once in a while and they make you turn off your phones before take off and you turn it back on when you land. That feature will automatically search for the network and synch in the correct time for you.

    Go to Options>Date/Time> scroll down to Date/Time Source and switch it to Network. That should automatically set the correct time for you where ever you go.

  3. #3
    Dirty Cash's Avatar
    Dirty Cash no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3G
    Posts
    1,566

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    Yep! That's correct! I believe that all BB's are shipped with the Network as the "Master" setting for controlling the time and date...the carriers may change this, but all my BB's and other cellular phones have been programmed to update time/date directly from the network. I travel between Central & Eastern time zones frequently and this helps a lot!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Toddboy71's Avatar
    Toddboy71 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    T o' Bee
    Posts
    2,384

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Wow this must be a new feature. You always had to manually change it in the past.
    In fact last week I manually changed it not even knowing it would be automatic!

  5. #5
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    But wait, I live in Mountain, and when I travel to Eastern, the BB shows my "home" time. If I adjust it to where I am, all my tasks/calendar appointments are adjusted too!

    So, if I had an appointment at 10 am MST, and I go to Toronto and want the local time displayed, I have to change the time zone, and then that appointment will also change to 12 noon EST.

    Unless this has been fixed since the last time I travelled (a couple months ago).

    ???

  6. #6
    sanjeevjoshi's Avatar
    sanjeevjoshi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    I NEVER change the time zone, although I wish I did... calendar sync was really buggy when going back and forth between time zones, I would lose track of when the original appointment was, and it was not always consistent with my corporate email.

    Has this issue been fixed for sure? Anybody test and confirm with BES?

  7. #7
    jb76006's Avatar
    jb76006 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    This is ridiculous. BB should be embarrassed. Have had nokias and motorolas and they handled it just fine as many of you have posted. I just travelled from the Central zone to Arizona for a biz trip. I noticed that the time did not change, so I changed it and wound up 2 hours early for an appt because i did not realize that the calendar also moved up . So I set it back to Central. And when I went to bed I set the alarm to 6 AM....You guessed it. It went off at 4 AM local. This is absolutely naive and bush league on RIM's part. This MUST be fixed. RIM are you listening? Many of us who travel switched to the Pearl because of its size and features. As much as I love it, now I am looking at other phones.

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    jb is correct.

    So far as I have seen this is true of all BBs -- they do not change the time zone automatically ever, no matter what the setting is. If you change the time yourself then your calendar appointments automatically adjust to the original home time setting, just as described above.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    DrSuha's Avatar
    DrSuha no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    162

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i must say I felt stupid that I was the only one on the plane that had to manually change their cell time. But I hope I will be spared from future embarrassments now that I switched it from N to network mode as ddn79 mentioned.

  10. #10
    adam917's Avatar
    adam917 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    166

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    Quote Originally Posted by sanjeevjoshi
    I NEVER change the time zone, although I wish I did... calendar sync was really buggy when going back and forth between time zones, I would lose track of when the original appointment was, and it was not always consistent with my corporate email.

    Has this issue been fixed for sure? Anybody test and confirm with BES?
    If you want to stay on a chronologically still timezone, just switch to UTC (Casablanca/GMT; with NO Daylight Saving/Summer Time). ;-)

  11. #11
    KSpider's Avatar
    KSpider no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    Mine never changed automatically, even on network. I believe "Network" just makes it use the network time, which keeps it correct, as opposed to being a few minutes off. Doesnt have to do with the time zones. My pearl is 1 year old, maybe its a new feature?

  12. #12
    puckplayer4's Avatar
    puckplayer4 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    99

    Re: Time Zone Changes

    Mine has always been set to Network and has Never changed automatically when I traveled. Wish it had, but never does.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •