ok im hearing a lot about this OS thing and im not totally sure what ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

lizm233 no está en línea Stack level 2

this OS thing...

Advertisement

ok im hearing a lot about this OS thing and im not totally sure what it is exactly.. haha you can tell im new at this.. but is it like an upgrade? and how do i know if i have it or not?

srl7741 no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Hi lizm233,

OS means operating system, it's the programing the phone uses sorta like Windows XP or Mac OSX would be for a computer.

My own personal rule of thumb is:
    If it's not broken don't fix it. Unless the newer os upgrade has some feature that you need or unless the newer os has some fix for an issue you currently have i vote to leave it alone.

hope this helps? Only my $0.02

edit* i forgot?

options/about on your phone will give you the o.s. info.

mrp21 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Hi,
    I've downloaded the 8100M_PBr4[1].2.0_rel79_PL2.2.0.39_A4.2.0.67_Telefonica_ES.exe from the blackberry site. I run the .exe fle - but then how does that update the blackberry?
    I'm trying to work this out as i have a number of annoying problems like autotext keeps coming up even though i disabled it in the settings and phone keeps going into standby - hoping the new OS will sort it

aggiephoenix no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    204B3B00
    awesome ... now that u have installed the file on the comp ... connect the bb to the comp using usb and open bb destop manager ... the software will take care of everything for u from now on like a charm !! ... enjoy !

PIN:204B3B00

EvolutionCSR no está en línea Stack level 5
    Quote Originally Posted by mrp21
    Hi,
    I've downloaded the 8100M_PBr4[1].2.0_rel79_PL2.2.0.39_A4.2.0.67_Telefonica_ES.exe from the blackberry site. I run the .exe fle - but then how does that update the blackberry?