Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

So I followed all the instructions I found on this forum to tether my blackberry ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jthiemeyer's Avatar
    jthiemeyer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    13

    Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    Advertisement



    So I followed all the instructions I found on this forum to tether my blackberry to my laptop and everytime I went to use it I got an error. I called AT&T to ask for some help and they told me I need the unlimited data plan w/ tethering for $60 a month and I only have the unlimited data plan for $40 a month......is this true?? It seems others have not had this problem........HELP!!!!

    Josh

  2. #2
    gtox's Avatar
    gtox no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    60

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    that is true you do need the plan.

  3. #3
    jthiemeyer's Avatar
    jthiemeyer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    13

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    I think someone needs to write some software that gets around this issue. The new Windows Mobile 6 has a feature built into it called connection sharing (or something like that) that you click to turn on and your phone does not even have to dial out to use that.......I might have to make the switch when the new Motorola Q for GSM comes out.......I wish I did not have to leave my blackberry though!!!!

  4. #4
    bwag717's Avatar
    bwag717 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A0A931
    Posts
    67

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    the teathering is thru BB web provider and you need to pay to play

  5. #5
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    Actually tethering is not that difficult on a BB, the biggest problem runs into getting around the fact you need to have a tethering plan to avoid getting any extra charges. Do a search in the forums and you will find multiple posts on tethering.

    Zo

  6. #6
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    From my understanding, it's not that hard to teather with AT&T. However, as others have mentioned, if you get caught they will make you upgrade to the expensive teathering plan...
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  7. #7
    CMuffa's Avatar
    CMuffa no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    If you check your Cingular/AT&T account online, if you have "DBB6A" as part of your service package, you should be good to go. This is the 39.99 deal.

    I've been using bluetooth tethering without any issues. Keep in mind I am using the EDGE/GPRS settings, since the Pearl does not have 3G support.

    Advanced Modem settings: +CGDCONT=1,"IP","WAP.CINGULAR"
    Phone number: *99#
    username: WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    password: CINGULAR1

    If your account details are wrong, you will see a "Supplimentry" type error on the phone screen.

  8. #8
    steva11's Avatar
    steva11 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    91

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    depending on your model, it's mostlikey compatible with the communication manager program at www.cingular.com/communicationmanager

  9. #9
    benison_123's Avatar
    benison_123 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    22

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    I used my pearl on cingular through the communications manager before i knew about the tethering plan. I used it for one night and racked up 28 megs at .01cents a Meg thats $280 it shows up on my online account as pay per use media net use..i have the $39.99 a month plan so i called up cingular they said they see no extra charges at this point...then i called up the cingular internet support division and they said it is very possible that i will be charged for this usage and that you need a tether plan which start at an extra $20 a month on top of the $40 data plan, so now i am just waiting and praying...my billing period ends in about 10 days and then i will see whether i got charged or not

    And if i do get charged it's time to call my fiances daddy and beg (he's a cingular rep hehehe).

  10. #10
    Naylor07's Avatar
    Naylor07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ECE99
    Posts
    337

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    That is the first time I had heard of that benison, but that is a lot of use, lol. I have being using my Pearl tethered through ATT without a tethering plan and haven't been charged any extra. I don't even know for sure why it would show up under the pay per use, because they would have to be monitoring it to determine if the use was from your phone or laptop, although with that much use it is pretty obvious!

  11. #11
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    I've heard of this before. And for the record, 28 MB really isn't that much.

    It's actually very easy for them to tell if you are connecting through a laptop or the phone. For one, the browswer identification string is different...
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  12. #12
    Naylor07's Avatar
    Naylor07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ECE99
    Posts
    337

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    Yeah, it is easy if they look for it... Unless they have an automated system to look for the browser identification string they would have to be monitoring the devices. And if they do have an automated system I don't know why only a few people would be charged and not others!

    Yeah, 28mb isn't much, I was half asleep last night! Sorry

  13. #13
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by mjwood0
    From my understanding, it's not that hard to teather with AT&T. However, as others have mentioned, if you get caught they will make you upgrade to the expensive teathering plan...
    It's not really the tethering plan that's so bad as much as getting charged for tethering at the per-use rate.

  14. #14
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    Quote Originally Posted by Naylor07
    Yeah, it is easy if they look for it... Unless they have an automated system to look for the browser identification string they would have to be monitoring the devices. And if they do have an automated system I don't know why only a few people would be charged and not others!

    Yeah, 28mb isn't much, I was half asleep last night! Sorry
    They may only check when it is being abused such as someone dramatically increasing the amount of data they are using.

    Zo

  15. #15
    Naylor07's Avatar
    Naylor07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ECE99
    Posts
    337

    Re: Tethered moden on AT&T/Cingular

    Yeah, there has been a lot of talk about whether Cingular/AT&T would do anything about this and my conclusion is if they start to lose too much money or their tethered plan sales go down they will probably start enforcing it more. I only really use it when I need it badly, but I have used it before without charge!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •