Results 1 to 11 of 11

I just tried to download TellMe to my 8120 and was told it wouldn't work ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491

    TellMe, BBMaps, what other apps don't work on 8120?

    Advertisement



    I just tried to download TellMe to my 8120 and was told it wouldn't work with my device! Is this because of the new OS? It worked great on my 8100! Has anyone run across any other apps that don't work on the 8120?

    I also can't get BBMaps to show up on my 8120... I'm with AT&T and I know they block it, but there was a work around on the 8100 in the LBS file - but I don't see the same contents in the LBS.alx file for the 8120 so I can't edit to make it work. Anyone have another workaround?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~yeah AT&T blocks it. I've never tried it, but try downloading BBMaps off of mobile.blackberry.com

    Can't promise it will work, but its worth a shot. I've seen it there for OTA download

  3. #3
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491
    Thanks. I tired it, but not luck It shows up in my application list - so I know I just need to edit the LBS file to make it work, but I don't know what to edit with this new version! It's not like I really need it - but it just bothers me that it's on there and I can't use it because AT&T doesn't want me to!!! I pay AT&T for Telenav, but I like using BBMaps when I'm walking in new areas, etc....

  4. #4
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    To Add BBMaps:
    If you have an AT&T device or a device without BBMaps then,

    Open the LBS.alx and scroll down until you see a string similar to the following:

    <!-- For 8800 series, hide the icon for Cingular (102), Vodafone Germany (124), Vodafone Austria (137) and all
    Orange properties. --><fileset SystemSize="normal" Colour="True" Java="1.0"[/b] _vendorID="~102|124|137|119|162|142|183|147|217"
    series="8800"[/b]>
    <files>
    net_rim_bb_lbs_ribbon.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>
    <!-- For non-8800 series, show the icon for all carriers except Vodafone Germany (124), Vodafone Austria (137) and all Orange properties. -->
    <fileset SystemSize="normal" Colour="True" Java="1.0"[/b]series="8800"[/b]>
    <files>
    net_rim_bb_lbs_internal_gps.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>
    <fileset SystemSize="normal" Java="1.0">
    <files>
    net_rim_bb_lbs_resource_en.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>

    Remove all references to “_vendorID=…..” and device codes. Remove the text in bold as shown above and leave the > symbol at the end.

    The above code would be changed to the following:
    <!-- For 8800 series, hide the icon for Cingular (102), Vodafone Germany (124), Vodafone Austria (137) and all Orange properties. -->
    <fileset SystemSize="normal" Colour="True" Java="1.0">
    <files>
    net_rim_bb_lbs_ribbon.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>
    <!-- For non-8800 series, show the icon for all carriers except Vodafone Germany (124), Vodafone Austria (137) and all Orange properties. -->
    <fileset SystemSize="normal" Colour="True" Java="1.0">
    <files>
    net_rim_bb_lbs_internal_gps.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>
    <fileset SystemSize="normal" Java="1.0">
    <files>
    net_rim_bb_lbs_resource_en.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>

    Save the file (as the same name) when you are done.

  5. #5
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491
    I've done that many times on my old BB (every time I did an OS upgrade) but that information does not exist in the 4.3 OS LBX file...

  6. #6
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    did you delete your vendor.xml file?

  7. #7
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491
    I tried deleting the vendor.xml file today - it didn't help...

  8. #8
    Mainiak Blaniak's Avatar
    Mainiak Blaniak no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    Any progress??

    Has anyone made any forward progress on this issue? Trying to get BBMaps working on my 8110, and I have run into the same issues as above, the contents of the LBS file are not there to be edited as described.

    I saw a method of downloading BBMaps v1.2 from rim via the 'wirelessly push this app to blackberry users' that was aimed at OS 4.5 users. I was able get the 'downgraded' v1.2 on my device (in the applications list) but still no icon, therefore no way to launch.

    I don't really 'need' BBMaps as I use googlemaps for navigation purposes, but I dislike the fact that among other annoyances AT&T has limited my device. And I want to use Blip, too....

    Thanks,

    MB

  9. #9
    Papag's Avatar
    Papag no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    24b0c8db
    Posts
    158

    Google Maps Mobile

    Well then, what would be wrong with Google Maps Mobile?

  10. #10
    TillyTann's Avatar
    TillyTann no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    19
    Once I upgraded to 4.5 maps now work fine try that

  11. #11
    carlosguerrero7's Avatar
    carlosguerrero7 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    A few days ago, I erased the blackberrymaps and the google maps from my 8120, my OS is 4.5.0.110.
    Now i'm trying to reinstall any of them but I can't (in the screen appear: the device is not compatible)???? What it means? I used these app for months.....
    I need any of these app because I will travel this week to europe.
    Please help me
    Thank u

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •