Hello, I am a newbie here and I am sorry if this has been posted ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

pearly8100 no está en línea Stack level 2

T-Mobile autodetects my 8100??

Advertisement

Hello, I am a newbie here and I am sorry if this has been posted before. I tried searching to no avail.

So, I bought a 8100 on ebay, slid in my SIM from tmobile, and after starting up the first time, I get a message from T-mobile "welcoming me and my blackberry"!

A bit surprising, I might say.

The question:

SO, they in fact know I am using a 8100 on their network?

Thanks!

jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Yeah basically thats the deal, It doesnt mean that they are like spying on you or anything, they just know what device you use so when you log onto t-mobile website under your account the info about your blackberry is there and also to send you info about updates

Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    It could also be the preprogrammed message that comes preloaded on every blackberry I have ever seen on T-Mobile. They show up after a wipe has been done on the handset. Now if you go into T-Zones it will also detect that you have a BB. That comes from the information the phone transmits to the system automatically to make sure that what you see is relevant to your device. Sometimes it will change it on my.t-mobile.com also but not always.

Zo
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

csa819 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Actually, the answer is both of the above. There is a message welcoming you to tmo that's preprogrammed into the handset. They also know via the imei # of your device what device you are using. The imei and the sim work together in the newtork operations (how the network nows where to route your calls as you are moving around).

pearly8100 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Thanks for the answers...
    I think that as long as they have their privacy policies in place, everything should be okay.