Results 1 to 7 of 7

So I just got my 8120 and my TOTAL memory is at 54MB. Isn't it ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49

    Strange thing about my memory...

    Advertisement



    So I just got my 8120 and my TOTAL memory is at 54MB. Isn't it supposed to be at 64MB (or close to it)?

  2. #2
    ma077146's Avatar
    ma077146 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    3019F3E6
    Posts
    945
    The specs for the phone say it has 64MB of flash memory, but a portion of that will be used by the onboard OS as well. Here's a link to a good explanation about calculating memory:

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/dynam...C&kcId=KB15345

  3. #3
    walds11's Avatar
    walds11 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    518
    I was wondering the same thing.

    Thanks for sharing the link.

  4. #4
    li2327's Avatar
    li2327 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30D2E555
    Posts
    1,502
    Do yourself a favor and delete any application you know you're not going to use. That frees up a lot of memory and alo get a memory card to store pics, video's, etc. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119
    i would delete some of the apps that you dont need- aim, wlm, yahoo... those are some examples.. just download jivetalk and youll be all set!
    Phone: T-Mo S4- Stock-Rooted


    [Former]
    Device: T-Mobile S3
    Device: HTC Amaze 4G
    Device: HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
    Device: BlackBerry (9700, 8900,8320,8120,8100)

  6. #6
    timastyle's Avatar
    timastyle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    49
    I've deleted all the apps I don't need. That's not what my concern and I already have a media card. My concern was the fact that the File Total was reading at 54MB rather than 64. I understand it now.

    Thanks for the help

  7. #7
    Gigamaster89's Avatar
    Gigamaster89 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    170
    This also applies to pratically anything that contains any sort of memory. It's almost always below the rated amount.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •