Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

it happens in more than one location, unfortunately. i'm in toledo, ohio. but it has ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    Advertisement



    it happens in more than one location, unfortunately.

    i'm in toledo, ohio. but it has been happening for more than a month now, on and off.

  2. #17
    dakine320's Avatar
    dakine320 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30a4d06e
    Posts
    52

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    then i would do a reset to it

  3. #18
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    just to make sure before i wipe...i think i know the answer, just double checking.

    with a complete wipe, if i backup before, and restore afterwards - EVERYTHING will be the same, right?

    like applications, ringtones, etc.?

  4. #19
    dakine320's Avatar
    dakine320 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30a4d06e
    Posts
    52

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    if you back every thing up it will be the same rember to SAVE ANYTHING YOU WANT to keep be cause it removes every thign and sets it back to factory defaults

  5. #20
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    ok....so i decided to wipe the BB clean. i backed it up. wiped it. and am now restoring.

    however - it seems stuck on "sending phone call logs" - do i wait? or cancel and try to restore again?

    i know there are several times during BB processes where you don't want to cancel at all, and just wait it out. is this one of those times or will be i alrite to cancel and redo the restore?

  6. #21
    dakine320's Avatar
    dakine320 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30a4d06e
    Posts
    52

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    wait it out and it should continue

  7. #22
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    it's been about 10 minutes...and hasn't budged. keeps saying "Estimated Time Remaining: 0:32"

  8. #23
    lhurtado's Avatar
    lhurtado no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    Hi, in a GSM network the robotic voice void be produced by the usage of a half rate codec. With this codec the cell capacity could be doubled but the quality decrease.This is a quality - capacity trade of. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #24
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    Quote Originally Posted by lhurtado
    Hi, in a GSM network the robotic voice void be produced by the usage of a half rate codec. With this codec the cell capacity could be doubled but the quality decrease.This is a quality - capacity trade of. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    So what exactly does that mean? Is it the network or the device?

  10. #25
    lhurtado's Avatar
    lhurtado no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by tecrishon
    So what exactly does that mean? Is it the network or the device?
    The network...

  11. #26
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    Mr. Roboto! No seriously though, digitizing still can happen on GSM, it is just unusual. GSM definitely is lees prone to interference than many other formats. It used to happen around my area before the network was upgraded . This happens most often due to actual interference rather than poor signal quality. This can happen with any digital data stream, whether OTA or not. Basically your phone can maintain its connection to your network however the data is not making it to your phone in the same state that it was originally transmitted. In the case of cellular data streams it usually happens after the signal has left your providers tower.

    I am willing to guess that your reset will have no effect.

    Unfortuanately, there isn't a sure fire way to troubleshoot this. Should it continue beyond your reset, you are going to have to keep your eye out for any common factors that might lend to discovering the source.

    Quote Originally Posted by lhurtado
    Hi, in a GSM network the robotic voice void be produced by the usage of a half rate codec. With this codec the cell capacity could be doubled but the quality decrease.This is a quality - capacity trade of. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Ooh, I forgot about the old half rate codec.... Good thinking that is a very good possibility as well. I didn't think there were many providers still using that trick..
    Last edited by Kortanis; 06-08-2007 at 08:13 PM.

  12. #27
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kortanis
    I am willing to guess that your reset will have no effect.

    Yeah, reset (wiped it completely) yesterday. Not more than 1 hour later, it happened again.

  13. #28
    Jaspreet's Avatar
    Jaspreet no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E77069
    Posts
    170

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    it could be also that weirelss signal would be weak...where the person is calling u and where u might be answering him

  14. #29
    tecrishon's Avatar
    tecrishon no está en línea Device Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Retired
    Posts
    842

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    Both parties have been in different places when it has happened, though. It doesn't happen just when I'm at home or just when they are at home.

    It's getting rather annoying now, just for the fact that they have to hang up and call back repeatedly.

  15. #30
    dakine320's Avatar
    dakine320 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30a4d06e
    Posts
    52

    Re: Sound Like a Robot?

    call t-mo tell them whats hapening and have them repalce the device

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •