Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I know it's been covered because I've used the search function and read all the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Advertisement



    I know it's been covered because I've used the search function and read all the threads that have covered it. I must be over looking something simple because I've tried this a few times now with no luck. I can't get the phone to ring different for anyone. Here's what I've done so far so hopefully I can get a quick response to fix my problem and we can forget this thread ever existed.

    Here's what I've done so far.

    Home screen,
    Profiles,
    Advanced,
    Loud (active),
    Phone,
    Out of Holster,
    Tune
    I then picked tone A,
    Menue,
    Save

    That should be to get Tone A to play as my incoming call notification, which it does successfully. Now to set up an exception.

    Home screen,
    profiles,
    advanced,
    Menu,
    New Exception,
    Name the Exception,
    Add name,
    Custom Phone Tune checked,
    Choose new ring tone, let's say Tone B
    menu,
    Save

    Now when I look at the Profiles list it shows Loud is active and that I have an exception for the name I just added and that box is checked.

    What the heck am I missing? It still plays tone a even when I've specifically set up when the person calls for tone B to play. I even tried it with a battery pull and nothing.

    I'm reaching out to anyone and everyone to please read through and let me know what I'm missing. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    SonikAMD's Avatar
    SonikAMD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e44a00
    Posts
    164

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Have you tried on the 'normal' profile? My exceptions work and that's what I'm set to.

  3. #3
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Avante, go into your address book and view the contact you are trying to add custom Tune B to. Does it show the custom tune at the bottom of the view field?

  4. #4
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    The other thing are these the fave 5's?

  5. #5
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    It is a fav 5
    It's not showing in the address book
    The profile is set to Loud.

  6. #6
    SonikAMD's Avatar
    SonikAMD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e44a00
    Posts
    164

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    have you tried changing the tone through the myfaves app? click the trackball over the myfaves name -> click the menu button -> edit contact -> change tone.

  7. #7
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Quote Originally Posted by SonikAMD
    have you tried changing the tone through the myfaves app? click the trackball over the myfaves name -> click the menu button -> edit contact -> change tone.

    I haven't yet, I'll try it right now!

  8. #8
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Well when changing it through the myfaves way it worked! Does this mean i have to go and change the tone in each of the places for each contact. The myfav's spot, in the actual addy book and in the Advanced options of Profiles?

    This seems like a lot of work!

  9. #9
    SonikAMD's Avatar
    SonikAMD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e44a00
    Posts
    164

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    You should only have to set it up in the MyFaves. I think the exceptions and custom tone take a backseat to the myfaves app.

  10. #10
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Quote Originally Posted by SonikAMD
    You should only have to set it up in the MyFaves. I think the exceptions and custom tone take a backseat to the myfaves app.

    So any of the contacts I have that aren't MY FAVs I should only have to update in the addy book or the advance profile? Not both?

  11. #11
    peterbabiy's Avatar
    peterbabiy no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DE41AA
    Posts
    1,926

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    I like the favs idea but everyone around me has TMO so I guess there aint no reason to get that

  12. #12
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Well for now I think I've got it figured out. If I have any more trouble I'll let you guys know!

    A HUGE THANKS TO:

    LJBYAR
    STACEYRVC
    SONIKAMD

    for their expert advice and their super quick responses!

  13. #13
    SonikAMD's Avatar
    SonikAMD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e44a00
    Posts
    164

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    If you set up the tones through the addy book it should automatically add them to your exceptions. In address book trackball click a name -> options key -> edit -> trackball click the headshot image -> select add custom phone tone -> pic a tone and save. Then check your exceptions you should now have an exception 'Calls From YourContact'

    edit: My mistake, It should work if you set it through profiles or the address book.

  14. #14
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Quote Originally Posted by peterbabiy
    I like the favs idea but everyone around me has TMO so I guess there aint no reason to get that
    I use it for a long distance workaround. free international calls, any time of day.

    Now all I need is a babymama in Hong Kong.

  15. #15
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Sorry I did use the Search function and still trouble!!

    Quote Originally Posted by blackninja
    I use it for a long distance workaround. free international calls, any time of day.

    Now all I need is a babymama in Hong Kong.
    Please explain! I thought you couldn't use them for international calls?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •