Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hi All, I just joined up a few weeks ago when I got my TMO ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    wyldcrd611's Avatar
    wyldcrd611 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12

    So do I have the only 8120 that doesn't work right???

    Advertisement



    Hi All, I just joined up a few weeks ago when I got my TMO 8120 (v4.3.0.115). I love the wifi calling and since I work from home, it's a $10 no brainer for unlimited calls all over.

    Last week (conveniently just after the 14-day take back timeframe), the phone powered down in the middle of a call.... TWICE! this has happened a few times since then both while on UMA and on EDGE.

    I still have my 8100 (got it on the release day, and only have had bluetooth issues with it but got it replaced), and I'm strongly thinking of going back to use it until I can figure this out. It's frustrating because I'll be on an important call for work, and have to explain that I just got this phone that's a piece of junk and won't stay powered. I really don't feel that way about the phone, I like the feel and the updated apps on the unit.

    FYI, I removed most of the apps that I don't need, and the only 3rd party apps that I have installed are Google Maps Docs and Calendar, Opera Mini, and since I had Guitar Hero 3 on my other phone, I put it on this one too....

    Any help would be much appreciated! I love the forum and all the good information on here so far! Thanks in advance!!!
    ~matt

  2. #2
    li2327's Avatar
    li2327 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30D2E555
    Posts
    1,502
    Don't feel bad. This is my third warranty replacement. I've only had mine for a couple of months. I love my 8120. I went to a curve for a short time and realized I like my 8120 better so hang in there. I haven't had any problems with this last rolacement and I'm keeping my fingers crossed. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    chadmsmithmn's Avatar
    chadmsmithmn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    The same thing has been happening to me quite frequently. I decided to stop into T-Mobile since i'd only had the phone 2 months. The sales woman said it is a problem in the wiring and to call customer service and they'd send me out a new one. It'll go days with out doing it then do it several times for a few days. I just haven't gotten around to calling from another phone and sitting on hold for 45 mins yet!

  4. #4
    wyldcrd611's Avatar
    wyldcrd611 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12
    45 min! you're lucky, the other day it was backed up 3 hours. If I knew that I was going to be available in 3 hours time I would've left a call back number. I guess I will have to try next week when I have the opportunity. Thanks for the feedback. I have been meaning to call, but it subsided for a few days, then flared up again the last couple..... kinda like a bad rash....
    ~matt

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    wylcrd,

    What brand router are you using at home? Some have been known to cause rebooting issues.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    wyldcrd611's Avatar
    wyldcrd611 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12
    At first, I was using an Apple Time Capsule, but then I switched over to a Linksys WAP54GT. I have both running in my house with two separate SSIDs and on two separate channels. I thought of this earlier, but the phone will totally reboot while on EDGE and not at home. I haven't had time because I was in SoCal over the weekend, but I plan on getting tech support on the phone this week.... hopefully, a hurricane lurking off the coast won't hit, and I can focus more energy on other matters.

    thanks!
    ~matt

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •