Results 1 to 9 of 9

Just upgragraded my Pearl firmware to v4.2.1.154 (Multilanguage) - Applications: 4.2.1.96 ; Platform: 2.3.0.78 ; ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jiggeybo's Avatar
    jiggeybo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    Advertisement



    Just upgragraded my Pearl firmware to v4.2.1.154 (Multilanguage) - Applications: 4.2.1.96; Platform: 2.3.0.78; Size: 72.91mb! I have AT&T and mainly did it because I wanted to have the option to seperate email and text messages into different folders. I upgraded and now I can't get rid of the hour glass! It is almost always appearing and load times have drastically increased.

    Anybody else having this problem?

    Other programs installed include

    Opera 4
    411
    Empower
    Color Pearl
    Last edited by jiggeybo; 07-07-2007 at 12:24 PM.

  2. #2
    jiggeybo's Avatar
    jiggeybo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    I did a hard reset and now the phone thinks I have no battery left when in fact in is fully charged!!

    This is not a stable release!

  3. #3
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    give it some time. its take a little bit for the OS to reach peak performance after ugrading in my experience

  4. #4
    becca415's Avatar
    becca415 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24a0b3b4
    Posts
    35

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    I've been haveing the same problem. But it is getting better
    *Becca*
    Tri-Cities, Michigan
    Store Manager
    at&t

  5. #5
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    the symbol screen takes what seems like forever to pull up

  6. #6
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    for me it never took more than maybe 10 minutes after it powered up for it to function well again. If it is still slow for you after that you could try re-installing it but remove extra stuff you don't use. There is also another (newer) OS you could try that might have fixed that issue, who knows. 4.2.1.101. Was posted only 2 days ago so seems to be the newest at the moment

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...s_4_2_1_a.html
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  7. #7
    jiggeybo's Avatar
    jiggeybo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    Quote Originally Posted by glehman85
    give it some time. its take a little bit for the OS to reach peak performance after ugrading in my experience
    seems to be responding better now. interesting that it takes "some time" for the OS to reach peak performance. Definitley some noticeable differences in this release though.

  8. #8
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    Quote Originally Posted by jiggeybo
    seems to be responding better now. interesting that it takes "some time" for the OS to reach peak performance. Definitley some noticeable differences in this release though.

  9. #9
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907

    Re: Slowww load times with v4.2.1.96!

    I think that most of the speed from these devices come from the amount of things cached. Doing a full reset will wipe tha cache and therefore, seem slow. Once you use your common applications a few times, things will improve quite a bit.

    Glad it's working better for you! I've been running it for a while and it's been very stable for me.
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •