Results 1 to 13 of 13

OK, I know there are alot of threads on how to do this. But I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    spchitman's Avatar
    spchitman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23fe3fd0
    Posts
    32

    Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    Advertisement



    OK, I know there are alot of threads on how to do this. But I am going to give this step by step for those who dont know an @$$ load about computers and such.

    Starting from scratch:
    1. click on start
    2. go to control panel.
    3. If you have it on catagory view, click on printers and other hardware.
    4. click on phone and modem options
    5. click on the modems tab
    6. click add
    7. check the box that says, "don't detect my modem; I will select it form a list"
    8. Click next
    9. in the left box that says, "manufacturer," click on (standard modem types)
    10. now in the right box that says, "models," scroll down and click on standard 33600 bps modem
    11. click next
    12. select com4
    13. click next
    14. click finished
    15. now click "ok"on the phone and modems options
    16. the only thing that should be on your computer screen right now are these instructions and the printers and other hardware control panel.
    17. click the back button on the printers and other hardware control panel
    18. now you will be on the original control panel
    19. click on network and internet connections
    20. On the bottom right, click on network connections
    21. under where it says, "network tasks," on the far left hand side, click create a new connection
    22. On the "new connection wizard," click next
    23. select the top button that says, "connect to the internet"
    24. click next
    25. select the second button that says, "set up my connection manually"
    26. click next
    27. select the button that says, "connect using a dial-up modem"
    28. Click next
    29. the box will say connection name: Under that, it will say "ISP name." Under that, it will have a text entry box. Give the Connection a name. It doesn't matter what the name is. You can call it "this **** sucks." It doesnt matter. I called mine blackberry.
    30. click next
    31. in the text entry box that says "phone number," type *99#
    32. click next
    33. leave username, password, and confirm password blank.
    34. If the box that says "use this account name and password when anyone connects to the internet from this computer" is checked, uncheck it, and if it is unchecked, leave it unchecked
    35. If you are going to be using this as you internet all the time, check "make this the default internet connection." If you are not, then leave it blank
    36. click next
    37. if you want a shortcut, (reccomended, even if it is not your default internet), then check the box that says, "add a shortcut to this connection to my desktop." and click finished
    38. A big box will appear that says, "connect "whatever you named your connection""
    39. Click cancel
    40. your network connections page should still be on in the background... bring it back up.
    41. press the back button. Or if you closed it click start>control panel
    42. If you didnt close it and pressed back, press back again
    43. Everyone should be on the original control panel.
    44. click on printers and other hardware.
    45. click on phone and modem options.
    46. click on the modems tab.
    47. click once on the modem that you created earlier.
    48. Click properties
    49. Click on the advanced tab
    50. in the 'extra initialization commands" box, type exactly as follows: +cgdcont=1,,"wap.voicestream.com"
    51. Yes, there are two commas, so dont forget to type both of them.
    52. click "ok"
    53. press "ok" on the phone and modems box
    54. Exit out of the printers and other hardware control panel and/or original control panel.
    55. look on your desktop for the shortcut that you made earlier for you connection.
    56. double click on it.
    57. the connect "whatever you named your connection" box will come up. It will have something in the username box but it doesnt matter. dont put anything in the password area.
    58. Before you click on dial, make sure you have your desktop manager turned on, connected and your phone on.
    59. Click dial on your "connect "whatever you named your connection"" box.
    60. you should be connected to the internet.

    To disconnect:
    1. at the very bottom right hand side, on the task bar, there is an icon with two computers, click on it once and a box will appear
    2. press the disconnect button
    3. the box will disappear and you are disconnected.

    PIN me if you have any questions: My pin is 23FE3FD0 <<<< that last character is a zero. not the letter o

    Another note: You might want to do the extra initializations part, before you set up the connection wizard.
    Last edited by spchitman; 05-26-2007 at 02:22 PM.
    I wish golf greens all funneled down to the hole.

  2. #2
    washzurita's Avatar
    washzurita no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~I have Windows 95, will it work the instruction just given?-Please let me know

  3. #3
    spchitman's Avatar
    spchitman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23fe3fd0
    Posts
    32

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    eee i really dont know. You can try it. I think it might work. If not, let me know and i'll find out how to do it
    I wish golf greens all funneled down to the hole.

  4. #4
    BLUEHEFNER's Avatar
    BLUEHEFNER no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    116

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    So cool...a great break down @spc!
    http://www.acjphotography.com
    "POWERFUL PEOPLE IMPRESS AND INTIMIDATE BY SAYING LESS..."

  5. #5
    spchitman's Avatar
    spchitman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23fe3fd0
    Posts
    32

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    BTW, please let me know if it helped or if it didnt work. If something went wrong, maybe I typed something wrong, but i'm sure this is perfectly correct.
    I wish golf greens all funneled down to the hole.

  6. #6
    schmunger's Avatar
    schmunger no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    317d7c77
    Posts
    197

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    Thanks for the post. There are a couple of things/notes that I would also like to add:


    - This is the setup configuration for T-mobile users only.

    - Make sure you have your desktop manager opened and connected, with the Pearl already detected.

    - On your Pearl device, you need to make sure that in Options/Advance Options/TCP, you APN is set to wap.voicestream.com. Leave username and password blank.

    - When you go to your Control Panels/Phone Modem Options, if you see Standard Modem as a modem already listed, then you don't have to add a new modem. As long as its Standard Modem or Standard Modem 33600 bps, you should be fine. Any other standard modem type may not work.

    - If you are creating a new standard modem, there's one extra step you need to be check before adding in a new modem. Go to your device manager and open up the ports/comm tab. Keep a note of the COM# that RIMM Virtual Serial Port is installed on. That will be the COM# to use when adding your new standard modem. In most cases, you should see two RIMM virtual ports settings on both COMs 4 and 5. I have my standard modem set on COM4 but 5 also works.

    - If you're not able to connect, try adding "IP" to the extra initialization command field and or AT+ in front of the entire string. Eg.

    AT+cgdcont=1, ,"wap.voicestream.com" or

    +cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com" or

    AT+cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com"

    I have mines set up like the last example.

    - After creating your new connection, don't connect yet. Go back to your phones and modem option and highlight the standard modem. Click on properties and under the Diagnostics tab, run a modem query to make sure your modem is detected. You should get something like this:

    ATQ0V1E0 - Success
    AT+GMM - BlackBerry IP Modem
    AT+FCLASS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT#CLS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT+GCI? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT+GCI=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    ATI1 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI2 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI3 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI4 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI5 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI6 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI7 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATQ0V1E0 - OK
    AT+GMM - BlackBerry IP Modem
    AT+FCLASS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT#CLS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT+GCI? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT+GCI=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    ATI1 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI2 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI3 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI4 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI5 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI6 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI7 - Research in Motion BlackBerry IP Modem


    - Go to the properties of your new connection and ensure that 'Enable hardware flow control' is unchecked, including all options under it. Also, under the Networking tab of the properties, it should have PPP:Window... as the type of dia-up server you are calling. Hit the settings button underneath and make sure that everything is unchecked except for 'Enable LCP extentions'. Still within that tab, go to your TCP/IP settings, should be highlighted by default, by hitting the properties button. Then click on advance and remove the checkmark for the 'Use IP header compression'. Lastly, go back to the General tab and make sure the standard modem is checked and click on configure. Make sure nothing is checked within these settings.

    *Note

    -If you alter any of these settings, you still might be able to log in but it may affect your data transmission. Its also recommended to leave the port settings alone. You always want to have your maximum modem port settings (speed from your modem to your PC) equal or higher than your network connection speed settings (speed from modem to the network/internet).

    -Try not to have any applications running on your Pearl especially Jive Talk or Opera Mini since it uses the same APN access as it can reduce your data transmission speed. Make sure no other connection types are being used such as the telephone line or ethernet.
    Last edited by schmunger; 05-26-2007 at 02:47 PM.

  7. #7
    spchitman's Avatar
    spchitman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23fe3fd0
    Posts
    32

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    this is supposed to be for people who are not so computer litterate. But thanks for the info.
    Last edited by spchitman; 05-26-2007 at 05:43 PM.
    I wish golf greens all funneled down to the hole.

  8. #8
    spchitman's Avatar
    spchitman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23fe3fd0
    Posts
    32

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~bookmark this on your pearl in case you are doing this on a new computer and don't have access to the internet on that computer.

  9. #9
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    do you have to have desktop manager running? or is it fine if just the device manager is running?

  10. #10
    shayne63's Avatar
    shayne63 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    20E0D453
    Posts
    131

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    So wut does this do exactly??~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    Quote Originally Posted by shayne63
    So wut does this do exactly??~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    allows you to use the pearl as a modem for a computer

  12. #12
    a4 moda's Avatar
    a4 moda no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    77

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    thanks,

    great write up.

    Only thing is, I can't find my comm/ports tab in my device manager list.

    That's soo wierd.

  13. #13
    Jigga24's Avatar
    Jigga24 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Setting up the blackberry pearl 8100g as a modem for windows Xp

    My media player on my 8300 curve sometimes streams music on free websites like Tuneusin.com and mobile41. Other times when I go to the sites my media player won't stream the music from the site. It says "unable to find server." My pearl streams music just fine from the sites. Do you know anything about the media player configurations for streaming mp3 files over the internet?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •