Results 1 to 8 of 8

if I enter OPTIONS >ADVANCED OPTIONS > MEDIA CARD... I have set it up like ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345

    SD card issue RE: settings and access

    Advertisement



    if I enter OPTIONS >ADVANCED OPTIONS > MEDIA CARD... I have set it up like this.

    Media card support ON
    encryp mode NONE
    Mass Storage mode suport ON
    Auto Enable Mass storage Mode when Connected. YES

    now I can access my 32mb card to save and view pictures. but when I lauch the BB desktop softare and run the ROXIO media manager I can't access the card. It tells me it is not configured properly.

    now I did format the card after I installed it, and have followed a few tips on here. but still can't access the card using ROXIO. if I want to get stuff off the card I need to move it to the internal memory then move it over to my PC.


    I am using 4.2.1.94.


    anyone have any other tips.

    thanks

    P

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    As is can you see the card with your computer as a removable drive and copy items to the card?

    Suggest you try DM once with Mass Storage off and see if that helps.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    manofdestiny's Avatar
    manofdestiny no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    14

    Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    I'm experiencing the same problem with the exception that neither Media Manager or Windows IE recognizes the media card. Tried different USB ports and cables as well. Stumped.
    Walking forward with my eyes wide shut...

  4. #4
    BusterJames's Avatar
    BusterJames no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    2422753A
    Posts
    170

    Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    I agree with GaryF, try with mass torage turned off. I never have it turned on and can access my SD card through Roxio with no issues.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    manofdestiny's Avatar
    manofdestiny no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    14

    Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    This morning with DM running, I plugged in the Curve and the media card now shows up in Media Manager, but still not in Windows IE. And yes, I've tried both ways with mass storage on and off. (It's turned on now).

    I'm wondering if it has to do with the sequence of events. In other words, perhaps DM has to be running first, then the device connected...

    Tearing my hair out!
    Walking forward with my eyes wide shut...

  6. #6
    manofdestiny's Avatar
    manofdestiny no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    14

    Thumbs up Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    Hooray!! It's fixed!!

    After hours of searching through various forums, all over the web and Google, I believe I've found the problem and I've not seen this fix yet.

    It came down to a mapping problem. I have mapped several folders on an external drive, making it quick to get to them in Windows Explorer. Apparently when the 8310 Curve is connected through the USB cable, it chooses I: drive and defaults to a name of BLACKBERRY.

    Now I didn't notice that since I also have a folder on the external drive I've named Blackberry and also another folder that I had mapped selecting I: as the drive letter. That was in conflict with the DM as it also defaults to I: drive.

    I'm not sure how to change what the DM selects as a drive number, but I'm leaving it along and letting it have I:, I'll choose something else for my folder mapping.

    Whew!!

    Thanks for your help and I hope if others are having this problem they will find this thread. For others searching for answers, here is my setup THAT IS WORKING...

    Windows XP Pro SP2
    Connected using USB 1.0
    Desktop Manager 4.3 (assume that DM 4.2 SP2 would also work)
    MASS Storage turned on

    Good luck!
    Walking forward with my eyes wide shut...

  7. #7
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569

    Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    I have run into that issue with mapped drives on my comps at work as well. So much so that I now map hard drives on other computers to a letter starting from Z and working backwards as needed so that my removable drives (flash drives, BB's, samsung's, etc....) can be mapped to E and above with no conflicts.

    Zo

  8. #8
    nietotim's Avatar
    nietotim no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: SD card issue RE: settings and access

    I actually had to put my settings on Prompt when is comes to the Mass Storage. After opening DM i would then plug in my BB. Once prompted I would enable Mass Storage and It would read my sd card without a problem. It won't work any other way for me, but yeah the mapping also makes sense.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •