Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

ok cool..... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    xtasyboi_00's Avatar
    xtasyboi_00 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM
    Posts
    1,325

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    Advertisement



    ok cool..

  2. #17
    wskinner66's Avatar
    wskinner66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    I'm using V4.2.0.42 OS (defualt from T-mobile) where can I download the V4.2.0.51 OS????

  3. #18
    sanfrancisco's Avatar
    sanfrancisco no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    568

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    The Rogers OS [some call it an update] corrected some issues related to the original T-Mo OS that came on the Pearl.

    For example, the Rogers update fixed the trackball/ringer issue.

    But, the Rogers update took away the option to turn auto-dim off. In other words, auto-dim is on all the time with the Rogers OS. There is no way to turn off that purported feature.

    I am keeping my T-Mo OS and NOT installing the Rogers OS because I do not want the auto-dimming feature. I have my Pearl set to max brightness and I like that when I am playing videos.

  4. #19
    sanfrancisco's Avatar
    sanfrancisco no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    568

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    Quote Originally Posted by zokie
    I have turned the brightness all the way up and it still seems dim to me, anyone else think so, or is something wrong?
    When I wiped [or reset] my friend's Pearl last night, auto-dim was turned on [as the default].

    I noticed that the display immediately went dim and stayed that way. Not until I was able to go into settings and turn auto-dim off did the display become bright.

    If you can, put your Pearl on max brightness and take a pic. Post it here and by comparing we can tell if it is bright enough or if there is something wrong.

    Here is my Pearl. Take your pic in same conditions [all lights out, display on max bright.]. Or I guess you could just look at these pics and compare with your Pearl under the same lighting conditions.






  5. #20
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    wskinner66,

    You can find the link to Rogers Download Site in this thread, Blackberry OS Software links (by carrier). Don't forget to delete the vender.xml file from the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader folder.

    hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #21
    wskinner66's Avatar
    wskinner66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    Quote Originally Posted by sanfrancisco
    The Rogers OS [some call it an update] corrected some issues related to the original T-Mo OS that came on the Pearl.

    For example, the Rogers update fixed the trackball/ringer issue.

    But, the Rogers update took away the option to turn auto-dim off. In other words, auto-dim is on all the time with the Rogers OS. There is no way to turn off that purported feature.

    I am keeping my T-Mo OS and NOT installing the Rogers OS because I do not want the auto-dimming feature. I have my Pearl set to max brightness and I like that when I am playing videos.
    Thanks! After checking it out I'm keeping the Tmo OS, I just never messed with the Auto-dim feature so I turned it off and it made a huge difference. The trackball/ringer issue doesnt really concern me If I hit the trackball I want it to stop ringing anyway.

  7. #22
    aznfosho's Avatar
    aznfosho no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    18

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    yea this was happening to my phone too..and i called tmobile. and the guy there just said that the pearl had a "sensor" on it.. and when you are in the dark it'll be brighter..and vice versa..don't really know if it's true though.

  8. #23
    sanfrancisco's Avatar
    sanfrancisco no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    568

    Re: Screen not bright enough>?

    Quote Originally Posted by aznfosho
    yea this was happening to my phone too..and i called tmobile. and the guy there just said that the pearl had a "sensor" on it.. and when you are in the dark it'll be brighter..and vice versa..don't really know if it's true though.
    That's the auto-dim feature. It never makes the display that bright, so turn it off.

  9. #24
    wskinner66's Avatar
    wskinner66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6
    HELP!! I screwed up and forgot all about the OS and made the mistake of upgrading and now my screen is dim again and I also can no longer use my BB as a modem

    I also unlocked my pearl today, if that has something to do with it??

    Someone, anyone, PLEASE HELP!!

    Does anyone know where I can get the old OS

    My PIN is 204B9483 or email wskinner66@hotmail.com

  10. #25
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673
    a little tip....if you have your brightness at the hightest setting AND its still not bright enough...press the power button at the top and it gets even brighter.

    works great as a makeshift flashlight too

  11. #26
    wskinner66's Avatar
    wskinner66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6
    Well I did a backup prior to uploading the newest OS from TMO, last night I did a master reset to see if it would go back to the old OS V4.2.0.42 and it didn't work.... PLEASE tell me someone has the old OS!!

  12. #27
    Los22's Avatar
    Los22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    204D4CDB
    Posts
    17
    If U happen to find it, pls let me know. I hate the .64 version.


    -Los

  13. #28
    athlonxp66's Avatar
    athlonxp66 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    How do i reset the pearl? I do not like the auto dim..... I have the new up grade 64......

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •