Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

I really need someones help. I have this app error 523 that has haunted me ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    ghardwick's Avatar
    ghardwick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24

    Question Royally Frustrated (App Error 523)

    Advertisement



    I really need someones help. I have this app error 523 that has haunted me for 2 weeks now. I have a hard time booting my phone, and when booted my micro SD card doesn't function properly (it stopped working when the error decided to infringe on my life). Everything seems to be pretty much pooched. I even took my SD card back to the retailer just to see if it is fine (and it is), so it MUST be my phone. Do I need to do a full wipe? Do I need to reinstall anything? What do I do to fix this? Thanks for your help (and please know I am a novice, so details are GREATLY appreciated)!

  2. #2
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ yeah it sounds like you should wipe, and reinstall the OS. Which OS do you have by the way?

  3. #3
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Do you remember installing a certain app or theme right around the time this started happening? If yes then try deleting it and see if it helps.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  4. #4
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    Oh didn't think about that. A bad app install maybe?

  5. #5
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    That happened with my dad's 8130. I put one of the today plus themes from the mobile.blackberry.com site on his BB 8130 and every time he used speed dial he would get the app error 523 reset. I deleted the theme and he had no more problems. Weird though since I had the same BB, same OS, and used that theme no problem.....just a strange glitch during the install or something
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  6. #6
    slideaway's Avatar
    slideaway no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    56

    Happening on 9000 too

    We've seen this error on two of our BOLD users just recently. The devices don't recover well and the error is persistent. We returned the devices to AT&T and recevied new ones. Apparently the rep at AT&T said they've seen this error more than they'd like and they don't have a fix for it yet.

    Return it and get another one, a BOLD that is.

    Since your on a Pearl, I would try a reload of the OS as suggested, that may help.
    Last edited by slideaway; 11-21-2008 at 11:22 AM.

  7. #7
    ghardwick's Avatar
    ghardwick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24
    Hi and thanks for the assistance. I have 4.5.0.55 (platform 2.7.0.68) installed on my handheld. How do I do a complete wipe safely. Is there an easy walkthrough for a complete wipe/re-install that a BlackBerry layman like me can perform?

    P.S Yes I did load an app...this app that (when an e-mail comes in) shows me a small bubble letting me know what has come to my inbox (when I am in another app)...can't remember the name, but I have uninstalled it (a week or so ago)...

  8. #8
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    Jl commander or crack mem make it easy . Just be careful and follow the instructions. Search jl commander or crack mem i believe they're both still here.

  9. #9
    ghardwick's Avatar
    ghardwick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24
    OK, so I wiped my phone clean and this scary thing is on my screen; a circle with a line through it and in the circle has what appears to be a PC screen with a small circle, square and triangle in it. Under the image is the number 507...should I be scared?

  10. #10
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    That means it has been wiped and is ready for you to reload the OS. If you have downloaded and run the BB OS to your computer then hook up your bb, open the DM and use the application loader to reload the OS. Don't worry that's what it looks like when wiped.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    ghardwick's Avatar
    ghardwick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24
    I am getting nervous now...I have a black screen and the red light on the phone is blinking twice every 2 or 3 seconds...I hope I did not just kill my phone.......
    Last edited by ghardwick; 11-21-2008 at 03:30 PM.

  12. #12
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397
    hardwick!!

    Don't worry.......Did you install the OS alreaddy??

  13. #13
    ghardwick's Avatar
    ghardwick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24
    I did install the OS, now I have just a black screen with the red light blinking, blinking, blinking..........

  14. #14
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397
    Okay, After you did the wipe, have you tried re-installing the OS?? At All??

  15. #15
    ghardwick's Avatar
    ghardwick no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24
    I am in the BlackBerry Desktop Manager and it says PIN UNKNOWN, and the red light on my phone keeps blinking away.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •