Results 1 to 12 of 12

i have been trying to set personal ringtones for some of my contacts and it ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mfletcher5's Avatar
    mfletcher5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    37

    ringtones

    Advertisement



    i have been trying to set personal ringtones for some of my contacts and it doesnt seem to be working....

    any ideas or suggestions?

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: ringtones

    How are you going about this? Are you trying to assign them in your address book?

    Also if you filled out your profile with your Carrier and OS and all that jazz it would help us out greatly

  3. #3
    mfletcher5's Avatar
    mfletcher5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: ringtones

    yes, and nice to meet you again reddog. ya i go in the address book. and then i go to edit. then i hit the menu button again and it says add ringtone. and none of my ringtones show up

  4. #4
    mfletcher5's Avatar
    mfletcher5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: ringtones

    and i updated some of my info to the best of my knowledge. i really dont know too much about the blackberry so i apologize

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: ringtones

    where are you ringtones? Are they all on your media card under ringtones?

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: ringtones

    No worries, it just helps us out if we know more info about all that....Your OS version can be found under Options, About and third line down ex: 4.2.x.xx

  7. #7
    mfletcher5's Avatar
    mfletcher5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: ringtones

    cool thanks lol. and yes they are on my media card. under ringtones

  8. #8
    mfletcher5's Avatar
    mfletcher5 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: ringtones

    wait actually i dont think they are under ringtones

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: ringtones

    Should go like this...

    Address Book>Open the contact>Menu>Edit>Menu>Add custom phone tune
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    skandl's Avatar
    skandl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: ringtones

    I have a TMO with the current OS and I have done the adding and deleting of ringtones in the address book and I still get the default ringtone for the phone only..what the hell am I doing wrong I have been trying to figure this out for 3 weeks now!!

  11. #11
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: ringtones

    Quote Originally Posted by skandl
    I have a TMO with the current OS and I have done the adding and deleting of ringtones in the address book and I still get the default ringtone for the phone only..what the hell am I doing wrong I have been trying to figure this out for 3 weeks now!!
    You just might want to update your OS. Not exactly sure what "current OS" means. Since TMO is still offering the .64 OS and AT&T is at 1.96. I would go for the 1.96. If you need directions, my signature has links to a How to Upgrade. If you can't see my signature go under your options and turn that option on. Post back if you have anymore questions.

    Good luck
    ~red

  12. #12
    TanBucsFan's Avatar
    TanBucsFan no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    3,033

    Re: ringtones

    I have TMO and have had issues with setting ringtones since I got the pearl. My issues have usually only been with the people I have in my favs circle though. I'll set the ringtone to what I want, but it'll still play the default ringer. I usually go to edit profile and select the ringtone again, then do a battery pull and most of the times this solves the issue. I think its a bug with the my favs, but that's just my opinion.

    Don't know if you're only having this issue with the people in your my fav's circle or all of the people you have seperate ringtones set for...but just wanted to note that I was having issues with that.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •