Results 1 to 15 of 15

http://www.blackberry.com/YahooDownload/index.do I saw talk about a RIM Yahoo IM program in the past but just ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Thumbs up RIM IM program for Yahoo only.

    Advertisement



    http://www.blackberry.com/YahooDownload/index.do


    I saw talk about a RIM Yahoo IM program in the past but just found it today. It supports the Pearl and looks nice.

    "Yahoo!® Messenger, specifically designed for BlackBerry® devices, extends the look and functionality of Yahoo!'s leading desktop instant messaging client to the BlackBerry platform. Now BlackBerry users with a Yahoo! ID and password can send and receive instant messages with friends, family and colleagues in the Yahoo! community while on the go."

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305
    This appz is include in the BIS 2.1 and it works pretty well
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  3. #3
    GotPearl?'s Avatar
    GotPearl? no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,168
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~hi I just downloaded that and its telling me to activate my account with yahoo.any ideas as where to go to activate it? I have had an I'd for a while now so I don't think it could be that?

  4. #4
    husnain1's Avatar
    husnain1 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24456390
    Posts
    603
    best part is it uses data

  5. #5
    diesel1218's Avatar
    diesel1218 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    32CAA233
    Posts
    144
    Yeah can't wait for the AOL and MSN versions to come out.... Hopefully soon...
    Blackberry 8830 WORLD EDITION

    Blackberry PIN - 32CAA233

    MySpace http://www.myspace.com/andrews9

  6. #6
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673
    Quote Originally Posted by diesel1218
    Yeah can't wait for the AOL and MSN versions to come out.... Hopefully soon...
    i second that

  7. #7
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379
    After using this a few days, I really like the RIM Yahoo IMer. Its very similiar to the PC Yahoo IMer and been really reliable.

  8. #8
    LLPRODENT's Avatar
    LLPRODENT no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    32b2227d
    Posts
    109
    cant wait for aim and msn and icq from rim
    IF U JUS GOT A NEW SPRINT/NEXTEL
    ACCOUNT AND WANT A 25$$
    VISA PM ME OR PIN ME
    A.S.A.P SOON
    FOR REALZ



  9. #9
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379
    I already have the RIM Goolgle Talk and Yahoo, all I really need is the AIM.

    I wonder why they didnt start with AIM as that by far has the largest user base.

  10. #10
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321
    Quote Originally Posted by rkkeller
    I already have the RIM Goolgle Talk and Yahoo, all I really need is the AIM.

    I wonder why they didnt start with AIM as that by far has the largest user base.
    you can try to use ramble (which is free, but sometimes is tempermental) or IM+ (which is $50 but worth it)

  11. #11
    desiberry's Avatar
    desiberry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: RIM IM program for Yahoo only.

    [quote=icancn2u]Got Pearl?, Cingular does not support this application. You must use a work around. It looks complicated, but it is really not. Delete the application from your device and follow the instructions here
    .....[ /quote]
    It looks complicated but in a nutshell, its 3 steps (i did it out of sequence since I didn't understand what the guy was talking about, not even sure what a service book is, but the following works great):

    1) Install yahoo IM from the blackberry website OTA
    2) Download the service book in the above link (step 1 in the link)
    3) Use the "restore" function on the Blackberry Desktop to restore the service book to the Pearl

    Done! You can now log in to Yahoo.

    Works great....

  12. #12
    misaelrod's Avatar
    misaelrod no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: RIM IM program for Yahoo only.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~does anyone know how to make this utility vibrate or ring when I get an im? I really like it, but I keep missing im's on my pearl because it only blinks when I receive one. Thanks.

  13. #13
    TMOLydia's Avatar
    TMOLydia no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E73420
    Posts
    48

    Re: RIM IM program for Yahoo only.

    Quote Originally Posted by misaelrod
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~does anyone know how to make this utility vibrate or ring when I get an im? I really like it, but I keep missing im's on my pearl because it only blinks when I receive one. Thanks.
    Select Conversations then the menu button then notification settings ...and that is where you will find the option to select vibrate and LED Notification

  14. #14
    TMOLydia's Avatar
    TMOLydia no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E73420
    Posts
    48

    Re: RIM IM program for Yahoo only.

    OMG this yahoo add on for my Pearl is the answer to my prayers. I needed to have both AIM and Yahoo signed in at the same time..woot

  15. #15
    Tylast's Avatar
    Tylast no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    42

    Re: RIM IM program for Yahoo only.

    The only problem I've been having is that when I update my programs...it tells me that the Yahoo Install I did is an unrecognized package & will be uninstalled. I have to re-install it every time I add a new program...kinda bites.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •