Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hi, new to this site, and fairly new to owning a BlackBerry, although istalled BES ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Gidso's Avatar
    Gidso no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Remove operator settings, and unlock 8100

    Advertisement



    Hi, new to this site, and fairly new to owning a BlackBerry, although istalled BES for one of my clients. I was a windoze smartphone guy until i happend across 7130, needless to say I will never go back to SmartPhones. That said someone just gave me BB 8100, even more impressive than my 7130, but it's locked to Vodafone UK, whereas I'm on Orange. So two questions that you guys have probably heard before and could answer in an instant. Firstly anybody know of anywhere in UK i can unlock this phone to work on any network, I'm not worried if there is a modest cost involved as so far this little gem has not cost me a bean. Secondly, how do i get rid of the crappy operator menus that seem to have taken what was originally a simple interface and made it not so simple. Any advice would be greatfully recieved.

    Gidso

  2. #2
    blacklaw's Avatar
    blacklaw no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    327508D5
    Posts
    30

    Re: Remove operator settings, and unlock 8100

    I am thinking gsmphonesource.com can help you with the unlock. As to the rest, it sounds like a carrier specific theme maybe, or just a theme change might help.

  3. #3
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Remove operator settings, and unlock 8100

    Gidso, Welcome to PinStack.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  5. #5
    giamburrasca's Avatar
    giamburrasca no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    256223F9
    Posts
    348

    Re: Remove operator settings, and unlock 8100

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~You won't be able to delete the operator logo, I'm afraid, its in the firmware and will remain after you unlock. That said, welcome to Pinstack

  6. #6
    mayflower's Avatar
    mayflower no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    Hi I have a similar problem - I have an 8100 locked to T mobile UK. When we were in the US T mobile quite happily unlocked my cellphone when we moved back to europe, but T mobile UK just said 'you can take it somewhere to get it unlocked' and didnt say where, and certainly did not say they would give me a code so I can get it unlocked. I now need to put in my vodafone greece sim - any thoughts? many thanks dg

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    mayflower, Welcome to PinStack.

    There are several Blackberry unlock service companies that may be able to help you. gsmphonesource.com is just one that I have heard good reports from, but there are others out there. Some advertise on Pinstack even.

    Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with this problem or your BB.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  8. #8
    jhowle's Avatar
    jhowle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    3115EE05
    Posts
    525
    try this will help with the IT policy and unlock stuff

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...=unlock+policy

  9. #9
    mayflower's Avatar
    mayflower no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9

    Re: Remove operator settings, and unlock 8100

    I am still trying to unlock my UK T-mobile blackberry pearl. T mobile sent me a code, and instructions but absolutely nothing happened - blank white screen. Called them and they said 'sometimes it doesnt work!' you need to contact the manufacturer. Unfortunately I can't quite work out how to contact the manufacturer, they seem to be a dead loss unless you are a corporate user. Does anyone have any thoughts - I have now had this thing for more than 6 months and can only use it when I am in the UK, which is not all that often. Advice appreciated. Thanks

  10. #10
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: Remove operator settings, and unlock 8100

    Mayflower, you probably know you can use your BB abroad with international roaming, but as its very expensive you want to use a local sim when abroad ??

    As for BB support I have A number for RIM europe

    01753667333 or 000.

    Gaz

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •