Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 Nothing. They are just OS upgrades for the Pearls that Cingular ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    partyandbs's Avatar
    partyandbs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073
    Nothing. They are just OS upgrades for the Pearls that Cingular has.
    SO the Italy release isnt for Cingular pearls am i correct? Becuz i have a cingular pearl. And if it is usable on cingular phones what does it offer that the other releases dont? No one still hasnt pointed that out yet

  2. #17
    The SPCS Guy's Avatar
    The SPCS Guy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    30F558F8
    Posts
    232

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by partyandbs
    I was gonna update my software and put the red pearl on the black pearl has anyone done this? I know it changes the banner to say ATT
    ABSOLUTELY! I d/l it to my black 8100 and it works fine. Now I have a Cingular Pearl with at&t on the screen. The new Theme, I am not really feeling, but the software/OS is fine to put on your pearl.
    Just make sure you backup before updating anything.

    I say GO FOR IT!

    JE

  3. #18
    partyandbs's Avatar
    partyandbs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    i downloaded Italy and ran the exe file and then chose to launch desktop manager but it didnt install anything to the phone like when i installed the red OS

  4. #19
    McLovin's Avatar
    McLovin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    01100100
    Posts
    257

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    you have to delete the vendor.xml file first

  5. #20
    McLovin's Avatar
    McLovin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    01100100
    Posts
    257

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by partyandbs
    SO the Italy release isnt for Cingular pearls am i correct? Becuz i have a cingular pearl. And if it is usable on cingular phones what does it offer that the other releases dont? No one still hasnt pointed that out yet

    New folders

    New ringers and tones

    New desktop view that makes the trackball, mouse like

    Ability to combine or separated sms and emails (major change to me)

    Tmo zen theme has changed.

    A few items have been renamed

    Browser emulation much smoother

    Auto dim is back

  6. #21
    backdoc's Avatar
    backdoc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by MistahQ
    you have to delete the vendor.xml file first
    How is this done? Does any one have a pic of what the new screen looks like?

  7. #22
    backdoc's Avatar
    backdoc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Thumbs up Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by bobmcelroy
    and delete the vendor.xml file
    Any body willing to share?

  8. #23
    partyandbs's Avatar
    partyandbs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    where is this vendor.xml file located at so i can delete it

  9. #24
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader vendor.xml

    it should be in there.

  10. #25
    Macdarwin's Avatar
    Macdarwin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    96

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by MistahQ
    Tmo zen theme has changed.
    what changed on that theme?
    seems the same to me....

  11. #26
    Macdarwin's Avatar
    Macdarwin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    96

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader vendor.xml

    it should be in there.

    HAHA took me a day to figure out that COMMON FILES
    good job for making it bold.

  12. #27
    partyandbs's Avatar
    partyandbs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader vendor.xml

    it should be in there.
    ok thanks man iwas searching in the blackberry folder

  13. #28
    partyandbs's Avatar
    partyandbs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: Is red pearl firmware ok to put on black pearl??

    man something went wrong and it froze or wutever. it froze on waiting for device initialization after Load java applications. So i pulled the batter and now it just shows some box in the middle of the screen with a circle around it and a line going through it with 543 at the bottom

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •