Results 1 to 14 of 14

i think my 8100 is hosed. it just blinks a red LED twice in one ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    DCExpress's Avatar
    DCExpress no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1

    RED blinking LED

    Advertisement



    i think my 8100 is hosed. it just blinks a red LED twice in one second, then repeats this every 3 seconds. it won't power on at all.

    i removed & reinserted the battery (battery is fully charged), tried to power it from the USB port, tried it with battery removed and USB powered. all the same...red blinking LED.


    any ideas? its only 6 days old

    -dave

  2. #2
    chatster18's Avatar
    chatster18 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    1,121

    Re: RED blinking LED

    I was at a tmo store looking at the 8100 same thing happened there, one of the techs just replaced it...

  3. #3
    mrcsbrooks's Avatar
    mrcsbrooks no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    204b1dba
    Posts
    400

    Re: RED blinking LED

    Thank the gods for warranty. I think you might just have a bad handset, go to your store and have them swap your pearl.

  4. #4
    richardrblc's Avatar
    richardrblc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    PIN/ID
    22cf4edb
    Posts
    187

    Re: RED blinking LED

    the same thing happend to me with 2 7130e they claimed the charger fried them
    pin me any time 22cf4edb

  5. #5
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: RED blinking LED

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ yeah just take it back and swap it out.

  6. #6
    twheeler's Avatar
    twheeler no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    PIN/ID
    23E261CF
    Posts
    646

    Re: RED blinking LED

    Quote Originally Posted by DCExpress
    i think my 8100 is hosed. it just blinks a red LED twice in one second, then repeats this every 3 seconds. it won't power on at all.

    i removed & reinserted the battery (battery is fully charged), tried to power it from the USB port, tried it with battery removed and USB powered. all the same...red blinking LED.


    any ideas? its only 6 days old

    -dave
    You have 14 days from purchase (30 if in CA) to swap or refund.


  7. #7
    MarkTaylor22's Avatar
    MarkTaylor22 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    243AF028
    Posts
    29

    solution!

    Quote Originally Posted by twheeler View Post
    You have 14 days from purchase (30 if in CA) to swap or refund.

    attempt this!

    1. Unplug BB from PC.
    2. Launch the Application Loader like you were going to install something.
    3. While the app loader is attempting to connect to the BB, plug the USB cable into the BB.

    worked for me!

  8. #8
    mgriba's Avatar
    mgriba no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    This worked for my Pearl that I was issuing out the other day to an employee...

    How To: ReInstall OS When Computer Won't Recognize The Device Is Connected



    Problem: When trying to re-install an operating system that constantly intializes, Desktop Manager will not recognize the device.

    Solution: The following walkthough!

    Thank you to Pentace for this excellent walkthough:

    FYI this will work for any handheld that constantly initializes.. aka the hourglass of doom.

    1. Install the desktop software.
    2. Install the handheld software. (If it is a non Vendor software.. exp. T-Mobile. search and delete the "vendor.xml" file.)
    3. Pull the battery out of your device.
    4. With the battery out connect the device to the computer.
    5. Go to Options and select "connection settings"
    6. Select USB PIN this may take a few moments since there is no battery in the device. you might even have to select detect device in some rare cases.
    7. Select the application loader icon.
    8. Select all software you want installed.
    9. Proceed to the end portion untill you see the "Finish" button.
    10. Very IMPORTANT. do not hit the finish button, instead select the ADVANCED button.
    11. Make sure both boxes are checked.
    12. Proceed until it asks you if you want to automatically back up and restore. Select DO NOT AUTOMATICALLY BACK UP MY HANDHELD.
    13. Once the process starts. take care not to bump out the cord and re-insert the battery. Again on some rare occasions you might have to wait until it finishes saying connect to insert the battery.

    THIS MAY FAIL THE FIRST OR SECOND TIME DONT WORRY JUST KEEP TRYING.

    If you do not get it by the 3rd time.. download the Blackberry java developers kit and install it. once installed find the javaloader.exe file and move it into the c:\ directory

    Once it is under the c:\, go to start then run and type. cmd.exe

    After the command prompt apears type in "c:\javaloader -usb wipe" to wipe the handheld


    *The reason I have highlighted Step 13 is that this is very important to do BEFORE the DM tries to re-start your device because it WILL NOT re-intialize your device IF THE BATTERY IS NOT IN YOUR DEVICE.




    Last edited by N8DBB : 09-22-2006 at 12:04 PM.

  9. #9
    Don LuiG's Avatar
    Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    649
    if none of this works maybe go check where you bought it and u might get a new one

  10. #10
    gorcorps's Avatar
    gorcorps no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    450
    *looks at date of original post* I don't think he'll be coming back to check out these solutions, although they're quite good

  11. #11
    Webby's Avatar
    Webby no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    219
    Same thing happened to me and I had to replace mine.

  12. #12
    ernsalas's Avatar
    ernsalas no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    183
    Take it back and swap it

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    mpshah's Avatar
    mpshah no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    61
    i have a question: where do i move the javaloader.exe file to? the c:\directory of the phone or the computer???

  14. #14
    PJueckstock's Avatar
    PJueckstock no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by mpshah View Post
    i have a question: where do i move the javaloader.exe file to? the c:\directory of the phone or the computer???
    On your computer.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •