Greetings all I have many questions, but I will start with just a few. I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

hexwulf no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    20626B9D

Questions

Advertisement

Greetings all

I have many questions, but I will start with just a few.

I am not 100% new to BBs, but I am new to owning an 8120.
    I purchased it unlocked, from someone local.
    It's black with titanium/silver on the sides, with no branding whatsoever.

Ive been pondering upgrading the handheld firmware/OS, however, all I am able to find is 4.3.
    When I look at OPTIONS>ABOUT; it reads: v4.5.0.9 Platform 2.7.0.39
    Am I on 4.5? Why is it I can not find the version I am using?

I am also curious, as to what wifi applications for the blackberry there are, that will work without an actual blackberry plan. I am with Fido, and data in Canada is ridiculous.

I try the gmail app, and it tells me I need data, but I simply want to use wifi, to avoid data charges.

I also try blackberry maps, as well as google maps, and both of them lock up.

Sorry for the wall of text, and future apologies for many questions to come Im betting.

This device is slick otherwise.

Cheers
    hw

jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    "...what wifi applications for the blackberry there are, that will work without an actual blackberry plan."

If my experience is any indication (8120 with wi-fi and no data plan) you can forget about Opera mini and Viigo as well as BB Maps and Google Maps. The 1st two should work but I have been unsuccessful making them work and the "maps" programs require a data plan. I think emails are all going to require a data plan too.

Good news: BB browser works great..
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    ask