Results 1 to 10 of 10

So I screwed up my pearl last night and I'm trying to restore my old ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    big sev's Avatar
    big sev no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24266cd3
    Posts
    62

    question on backup and restore

    Advertisement



    So I screwed up my pearl last night and I'm trying to restore my old os that I backed up.
    The problem is that it only restores the settings and call log and stuff none of the 3rd party apps are restored. Anyone?

  2. #2
    big sev's Avatar
    big sev no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    24266cd3
    Posts
    62

    Re: question on backup and restore

    anyone?

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: question on backup and restore

    Sounds like you need to re-load the apps you are looking for with the app loader in DM. If these were OTA installs you are probably out of luck if the back up didn't catch them.
    Post back any questions.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: question on backup and restore

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Your need to remove the the new OS first. Control panel remove programs. Then it should be back. Unless you ininstalled the old one.

  5. #5
    b_d0za's Avatar
    b_d0za no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    314

    Re: question on backup and restore

    Does the backup feature in DM backup 3rd party apps now?

    It didn't for me.

    I back mine up using a different method I found a while back.

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: question on backup and restore

    All my third party apps have always been backed up.

    Do you have your settings setup correctly?

  7. #7
    b_d0za's Avatar
    b_d0za no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    314

    Re: question on backup and restore

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187
    All my third party apps have always been backed up.

    Do you have your settings setup correctly?
    It has never backed mine up. What settings are you talking about?

    I see how it can be done when updating the operating system to a newer one from your carrier, but can it be done when just doing a backup with the backup and restore feature in DM? Can this be done when updating to a different carrier's OS?

    For some reason I thought it wasn't possible to backup 3rd party apps with DM. I know it will allow you to back them up and put them back on when switching devices, but this doesn't give you access to the files unless you find them yourself at the right time of the process in the temp folder.

    Is there something somewhere I can read about this in more detail? I have searched but cannot find.
    Last edited by b_d0za; 08-14-2007 at 11:48 PM.

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: question on backup and restore

    Ok let me see if I can explain this correctly.

    Everytime you backup it will back up everything. All the applications that are in the application list on your BB, which in turn would be the same thing that's on your application list on your DM.

    I have gone through every OS upgrade since 4.2.0.42. (The very first OS) up till this one. 4.2.1.103 (Current One)

    I'm not sure what you're getting at with the OTA downloads. If you downloaded the application to your BB and installed them why would you need the JAR/JAD files? The applications should be there if it restored correctly. None of the JAR/JAD files are ever stored on your device when you download OTA. I don't think there is a way unless you save it directly to your SD card, and I don't even know if that is possible from your BB.

    So hopefully this answered your question. If not please try and further explain.

  9. #9
    b_d0za's Avatar
    b_d0za no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    314

    Re: question on backup and restore

    I just know that every time I do a restore none of my apps are ever reinstalled. I always have to install them again after I do the restore. Everything is restored except my apps. Is there a setting somewhere I am missing?

    I usually backup all my 3rd party apps using a way I found a while back that saves them as .cod files with one .alx file for all of them so all I have to do is open app loader and find the one alx file and then it lists them all to install.
    Last edited by b_d0za; 08-15-2007 at 12:09 AM.

  10. #10
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: question on backup and restore

    Hmmm...weird...if I restore I get everything back.

    Lets open up your DM and see you're settings. Maybe they're different from mine. That's the only reason I can see. What version of DM are you using?

    I've never heard of that way of creating one alx file. I can't really be of help on that issue.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •