Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

is there a worldwide edition firmware for bb 8100, i have a 8100 unlocked model, ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57

    question

    Advertisement



    is there a worldwide edition firmware for bb 8100, i have a 8100 unlocked model, and now i would like to put that firmware so i can use my other sim card wich is not from the subscriber...
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

  2. #2
    walkiniceberg's Avatar
    walkiniceberg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    21D45768
    Posts
    260
    If the device is unlocked shouldn't it read any simcard?
    BlackBerry8320/4.5.0.81 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  3. #3
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by walkiniceberg View Post
    If the device is unlocked shouldn't it read any simcard?
    BlackBerry8320/4.5.0.81 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

    yes, but when I unlock my bb i would like to use internet settings from another provider..
    that is why i am asking...when i unlock him...will it have the startup screen and logo from the old operator,
    or there is a possibility to install some world wide software, not from the provider
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

  4. #4
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    As long as it is for you device you can install any OS from any provider.
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.148 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    But yes, you will still have the logo and startup screen from the initial provider.

  6. #6
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    But yes, you will still have the logo and startup screen from the initial provider.
    and the internet settings? what about them
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

  7. #7
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    When you put in the carriers sim card the service books for there network will come to your device automatically. No mateer what carrier it is

    Quote Originally Posted by anubis_slamat View Post
    and the internet settings? what about them
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    What Jeff said, but you can also get the settings for whatever carrier you wish from here. Just enter in the country and the carrier and this website will provide the settings you need which you enter in from Options>Advanced Options>TCP.

  9. #9
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffallen8 View Post
    When you put in the carriers sim card the service books for there network will come to your device automatically. No mateer what carrier it is

    beautifoul.... XD XD, you made my day, cuz i thought when i put the new sim card in an unlocked
    bb that only sms and calls would work, but now when i see that the internet account will be active is beautifoul
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

  10. #10
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    As long as you pay the company for a data plan you will get internet.

    Quote Originally Posted by anubis_slamat View Post
    beautifoul.... XD XD, you made my day, cuz i thought when i put the new sim card in an
    unlocked
    bb that only sms and calls would work, but now when i see that the internet account will be active is beautifoul
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  11. #11
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffallen8 View Post
    As long as you pay the company for a data plan you will get internet.

    off course on the network Tele2 there is no specific data plan, there is a small data plan like 25 Mb 1.5$
    something like that..
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

  12. #12
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    If they don't support BB devices (if they sell them they support them) then you will not be able to access the internet through normal means (connecting directly to a BB server) since the carrier will not have one. You will be able to access it still through setting up the APN and using the wap browser possibly along with using software such as Opera Mini. Not all software you will load onto a BB device will allow you to use it without the BB services active. You will have to remove your unit from your old service provider's bis and register it with the new provider's BIS if you want email as well.

    Zo

  13. #13
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by Amigotek View Post
    If they don't support BB devices (if they sell them they support them) then you will not be able to access the internet through normal means (connecting directly to a BB server) since the carrier will not have one. You will be able to access it still through setting up the APN and using the wap browser possibly along with using software such as Opera Mini. Not all software you will load onto a BB device will allow you to use it without the BB services active. You will have to remove your unit from your old service provider's bis and register it with the new provider's BIS if you want email as well.

    Zo
    Tele2 doesn't have BB plan..just the internet plan
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

  14. #14
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    I would recommend download Opera Mini then and setting up your TCP to access Tele2's internet.

    Zo

  15. #15
    anubis_slamat's Avatar
    anubis_slamat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    21773AAE
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by Amigotek View Post
    I would recommend download Opera Mini then and setting up your TCP to access Tele2's internet.

    Zo
    thank you
    - Empires rise and fall bit linux is eternal
    - Blackberry is everything I was searching for
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/387649811.png

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •