Results 1 to 13 of 13

Does anyone know anything about the push to talk capabilities on the pearl? I know ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    tackdetack's Avatar
    tackdetack no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    576

    Push To talk

    Advertisement



    Does anyone know anything about the push to talk capabilities on the pearl?
    I know you can do it because att is selling a plan for it.

    any settings for it anywhere or is it a program installed through att?
    -You don't need eyes to see, You need Vision.

  2. #2
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466

    Re: Push To talk

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You already have it on the pearl but your carrier has to configure it for you to use. Personally I think its a waste of expense.

  3. #3
    tackdetack's Avatar
    tackdetack no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    576

    Re: Push To talk

    i think your right, the blackberry is no nextel. its better but one thing rim needs to do is make blackberrys louder
    -You don't need eyes to see, You need Vision.

  4. #4
    psi chick's Avatar
    psi chick no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    465

    Re: Push To talk

    the ptt feature is actually pretty good and convienent if you use it. i wish that people who didn't use it would stop bashing on it, it really just makes them sound stupid.

  5. #5
    fashionrider57's Avatar
    fashionrider57 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    52

    Re: Push To talk

    i had nextel before this. switched over cuz nextels have the technology tmobile had about 200 years ago. I loved the PTT feature, but problem was that no calls could go through to the phone when on the PTT.

  6. #6
    justin.hylton's Avatar
    justin.hylton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    241AA7C9
    Posts
    76

    Re: Push To talk

    wait a darn minute here...i have a pearl with T-Mo and I've never heard of this Push to Talk option. is it available on the T-MO 8100?

  7. #7
    BombaMyte's Avatar
    BombaMyte no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    240B992D
    Posts
    56

    Re: Push To talk

    Quote Originally Posted by fashionrider57 View Post
    I loved the PTT feature, but problem was that no calls could go through to the phone when on the PTT.

    This is solved on AT&T's PTT. If you have a Pearl and set it to Vibrate, your PTT call routes through to the phone, not the speaker. And if someone calls in, it shows as Call Waiting. You can even convert a PTT call into a cellular call at any time. I use it extensively at my job for both demonstration and utilitarian purposes.

    And to show off.

  8. #8
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466
    Quote Originally Posted by justin.hylton View Post
    wait a darn minute here...i have a pearl with T-Mo and I've never heard of this Push to Talk option. is it available on the T-MO 8100?
    Tmo may not have PTT or maybe your icon is hidden.

  9. #9
    rjs87's Avatar
    rjs87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    337

    Re: Push To talk

    PTT is a waste of money, and not as great quality as nextel, man i miss my nextel if only they had better service...

  10. #10
    Ekzt1nr's Avatar
    Ekzt1nr no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,146

    Re: Push To talk

    I always wanted to use the ptt feature but the friends I have that own a blackberry only have it on tmo and tmo doesn't seem to offer it....sounds like a hell of a feature but I won't know until I recruit sum other friends on att to upgrade to pearl.lol.....either that or make sum new friends.lol

  11. #11
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Push To talk

    I have no one that I know that uses it, so I never have bothered. I like the idea of it though. I just removed it from my phone so I don't have to mess with it always running in the background.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  12. #12
    frisco49ers's Avatar
    frisco49ers no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2840D481
    Posts
    339

    Re: Push To talk

    I would like to get this for Rogers in Canada. But I don't think they even have PTT

  13. #13
    fashionrider57's Avatar
    fashionrider57 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    52

    Re: Push To talk

    I'm not sure if tmo has PTT feature. Maybe they do, maybe not, haven't seen any service or add-on anywhere about it. Highly doubt they have it. If a company does have it, I believe you'll have to add that service on for a price.

    If you want to PTT someone else, I believe they have to have the plan also or they have to pay for each time they push the PTT button which is gonna suck for them. Should be similar to nextel in a way. Reason why I cancelled my nextel was because everyone I knew who had nextel, switched to Tmo, so I basically had no one to use my PTT with anymore. So I switched also.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •