Results 1 to 7 of 7

When I'm typing in certain words, my Pearl seems to have learned weird first choices ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    rachaeltb's Avatar
    rachaeltb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2

    Problems with SureType

    Advertisement



    When I'm typing in certain words, my Pearl seems to have learned weird first choices & isn't adjusting to the words I want. For example, if I want to type the word "at," it always chooses St or At first, regardless of whether it's the beginning of a sentence. And usually, if I try to type "by" it types NY. It's been doing this for awhile, even though I keep choosing "at" and by." I'm sure there are other examples I can't think of right now. Does anyone know why it might be doing this, or how I can fix it? Thanks!

  2. #2
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    That is just how SureType starts off learning. My 8100 still does that. Keep practicing and it will get better. If you have the 8110, 8120 or 8130, you can go into the spell checking application and correct the problem there.


  3. #3
    aleano75's Avatar
    aleano75 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    PM me!
    Posts
    113
    i have that problem on occasion...i think that the more commonly used words appear first...i was using NY often awhile ago and now its back to using by as the first option...you can delete words out of your custom dictionary if you dont want them to show up anymore...hope this helps a bit...im not a berry genius...yet

  4. #4
    Moridar's Avatar
    Moridar no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    302686bc
    Posts
    440
    teach it. I had the problem yesterday. Just keep typing and correcting it until it does it automatically. Then your problem is fixed. It is a little annoying but you can teach it to do what you need to.
    Gave up on Rogers! Went to Telus!

  5. #5
    monica.simons's Avatar
    monica.simons no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME
    Posts
    2,396
    I agree with the above, it is annoying at first but can easily be fixed. Mine always used to type minute for MN and I wanted that abbreviation for Minnesota. After teaching it what I wanted it was fixed but at first I was like WTF *@?!.
    Now I'm happy as a gopher in soft dirt! Lmaaao

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    thechadj's Avatar
    thechadj no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    690
    Each time you type an odd word that is not recognized by sure type, usually a mistake, the custom dictionary picks it up and saves it.

    I find that I do a clean up of my custom dictionary about once a month to get those words out.

    To do so go to options>custom dictionary and then select the misspelled word or odd word that you don't need to use anymore and delete it. Hope this helps
    Regards cHAd ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    Moridar's Avatar
    Moridar no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    302686bc
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by monica.simons View Post
    I agree with the above, it is annoying at first but can easily be fixed. Mine always used to type minute for MN and I wanted that abbreviation for Minnesota. After teaching it what I wanted it was fixed but at first I was like WTF *@?!.
    Now I'm happy as a gopher in soft dirt! Lmaaao

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    For that problem with MN check your Auto Text. There is an entry there for that.
    Gave up on Rogers! Went to Telus!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •