Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33

Try a "+" in front of the one and see if that does anything to ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757

    Advertisement



    Try a "+" in front of the one and see if that does anything to it

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Then your number is actually being restricted which may be a issue associated with the whole private number issue. Check to see if you see your friends number on his

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757


    There is a example of what I mean

  4. #19
    mm1334's Avatar
    mm1334 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17
    I tried enabling "show my number" and it still didn't work.
    I also tried another little experiment - I left myself a voicemail on a forwarded call and when I used the "return call" feature in the voicemail system it did successfully identify the number that called. Not really a big deal, but I thought it would be interesting to try.

  5. #20
    mm1334's Avatar
    mm1334 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17
    I just saw your reply -- what you're referring to there is turned off and on by the "show my number" option, not the restrict my number thing. My friend's phone does not have his displaying either.
    What 1 are you meaning to place a + before? You mean on the phone that is forwarding the calls? Or in my blackberry somewhere?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Yes where you insert the number to forward to

  7. #22
    Dvl636_BB's Avatar
    Dvl636_BB no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    PM me ;)
    Posts
    116
    Are all the Pearls involved thus far on the same provider network and same area code? In the first post, a bit unclear.
    Have you tried to fwd your Nextel to another model BB that's on the same network as your Pearl and also same area code as your Pearl?

    How about same/different provider Pearls with diff area codes? (I know, I know, these troubleshooting attempts may prove to be hard to try unless u know plenty of Pearl owners)

    I remember years ago b4 T-Mobile when I was on Voicestream and I'd get people call me from a Sprint number it would come up unknown/restricted. Tech support at the time were baffled and it never got resolved. Only had a few Sprint friends so I gave up.

    I'm in the telecom industry & have hours of troubleshooting exp with phone systems and data networks but still find my self overlooking things second and even third time round.

    In the morning I'm gonna try fwd'ing my work Nextel to my 8100 and will post results.
    Either way, GL!

    ~via BB: 8100: Red (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #23
    Dvl636_BB's Avatar
    Dvl636_BB no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    PM me ;)
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    Yes where you insert the number to forward to
    That's a good point. The format of the fwd'ing # that's in the Nextel phone. Although, when he swapped his SIM into his friends Pearl the CID came up correctly.

    ~via BB: 8100: Red (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #24
    kieranwest's Avatar
    kieranwest no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me:)
    Posts
    1,208
    I used to have this problem until I stored all of my contacts with the following syntax which has already been recommended +xxxxxxxxxxx
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    The phone FORWARDING the calls has a 678 area code.
    Both of the Blackberrys' that DO NOT work have a 678 area code.
    The one that DOES work has a 334 area code.
    I noticed that the FORWARDING phone forces a 1 before the area code in the forwarding menu for the number it's forwarding to (i.e.1-678-xxx-xxx), and I thought perhaps that had something to do with it.
    I just tried forwarding from another phone with a 678 area code though (no 1 before it) and the problem, of course, persisted.
    Then troubleshoot by physically changing the phone numbers in your address book and on your SIM on both your phone and the new one that is exhibiting the same problem. See if you can fix and alternately create the problem by doing this. Second, call your phone from a number that is not in your contact list at all, and see if it says "Private Number" or whether it displays the calling phone number. If it shows "Private Number" then it's the network, not the phone - -

    However, there is one more little thing hanging over my head - the fact that it's only forwarded calls this is happening to?
    And it's specific to a certain area code of the receiving phone? Makes me lean more towards the network and not the phone as the culprit - -

  11. #26
    mm1334's Avatar
    mm1334 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17
    I need to clarify a couple of points.
    1. It does not matter if the number is in my phone book or not - niether works.
    2. The area code has been ruled out, it doesn't work no matter what area code is calling.
    3. I tried adding a + before a number in my phone book and then calling from that number - no luck.
    4. I tried adding a + before my blackberry's number in the forwarding phone - no luck. This was expected since it works fine when directed to my friend's phone in the same format.

    To answer Dvl636_BB:
    - All the pearls that I've tried are on T-Mobile, two have 678 area code, one has 334. The one with 334 area code works. The phone I'm forwarding from is a Nextel. I've also tried forwarding from another T-mobile phone, and the problem persisted. The numbers calling have been a huge variety, Tmobile, verizon, landline, nextel, etc... I don't get ID on any of them. I'll have to look for somebody with a different blackberry model, but I don't think that's going to matter since we know that it apparently does work on some Pearls.

    A new note:
    My friend with the pearl that DOES work mentioned that he has an additional service on his account - it's called World Plus International, it's free and has something to do with letting your phone work anywhere in the world. It's no longer available to sign up for on the tmobile website though. Any possibility this could be a factor in making his work? I doubt it.

  12. #27
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    mm...

    A little brainstorming -

    Please check your settings here:
    Call Log
    Menu
    Options
    Smart Dialing
    Is Country code set to +1
    Is area code correctly entered
    Is National Number lenght set to 10
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #28
    mm1334's Avatar
    mm1334 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17

    GaryF

    Yep, thanks.
    Somebody on another site already suggested that one.

    Also, somebody posted this on another site, does anybody here agree? Nobody else has mentioned this:

    " I can understand that you would think it was your phone... but its sounds like a different issue to me. First, "Private Name" information is forwarded from the originating number to your handset through a "switch" or telephone switch where your number is stored by your wireless provider as far as I know.

    I know the number does show on other phones, so I would be getting your provider to verify your settings in thier "switch" rather than anything with your handset. Also, they should make sure that your routing information for your features in the backend is correct. It could be that its not receiving the proper information or its mis interpreting the info being sent and that is being sent to your handset as "Private Name"."

    This may be right, but I've been through this a dozen times with tech support at T-mobile and nobody has even started to delve into this realm.

  14. #29
    Dvl636_BB's Avatar
    Dvl636_BB no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    PM me ;)
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by mm1334 View Post
    A new note:
    My friend with the pearl that DOES work mentioned that he has an additional service on his account - it's called World Plus International, it's free and has something to do with letting your phone work anywhere in the world. It's no longer available to sign up for on the tmobile website though. Any possibility this could be a factor in making his work? I doubt it.
    Hey I too have that service. I actually added it because all of my family lives in Canada & other countries all over. T-Mobile cust care a few years ago told me that by adding this feature I would receive CID when int'l calls came in. To some extent that is true. I rarely get "unknown" when I get calls from abroad. Like I said rarely, which leads me to believe that cust care may have been wrong and the true point for that feature is like u said: For taking a phone abroad.
    Not sure whether this feature would help resolve your problem tho.

    As far as my Nextel goes, its the stupid basic hybrid milspec ic502. No fwd'ing feature unfortunately. Or I can't dig it out of the poorly thought out Motorola menus.

    ~via BB: 8100: Red (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #30
    mm1334's Avatar
    mm1334 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    17
    T-mobile said the International thing had nothing to do with it. They also said (this time around) that it's likely a bug that is RIM's fault. This is driving me crazy. Is there a way to actually talk to somebody at RIM who REALLY REALLY knows extemely well what they are talking about with the phone programming and can maybe give me some other insight. It seems like there would at least be a place to report something like this if it is a bug - so that way they can fix it in the next upgrade. Somebody please help! Any suggestions on any of this are appreciated.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •