Results 1 to 12 of 12

After I have opera downloaded and it is going through the network setup, I get ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    Stunray's Avatar
    Stunray no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    Advertisement



    After I have opera downloaded and it is going through the network setup, I get an error message saying "Failed to connect to the internet. Go to operamini.com/help with your desktop browser or contact your service provider for internet settings"

    I do have the data plan, and I have visited operamini.com and tried to troubleshoot but with no luck.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you for all your help.

  2. #2
    VeryBerry's Avatar
    VeryBerry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    354

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    In opera mini settings, do you network protocol set as http or socket?

  3. #3
    Stunray's Avatar
    Stunray no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    After searching around the site I found a solution. Sorry for wasting your time lol.

    I appreciate your help.
    Last edited by Stunray; 09-05-2007 at 02:23 AM.

  4. #4
    DrSmile's Avatar
    DrSmile no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    It's generally considered poor etiquette to post a response like that, just think how upset you'd be if you had this problem and ran across this thread... The answer is you have to set your TCP gateway under Advanced Settings.

    TCP, APN, WAP, Gateway and Port Carrier Settings

  5. #5
    metalg's Avatar
    metalg no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    i got opera mini to work with my blackberry 8100, all i had to do was to set my apn to internet
    but it may be different to your network i am from the Caribbean and my service provider is Cable & Wireless. well good luck people

  6. #6
    adubrovs's Avatar
    adubrovs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    241C8EB2
    Posts
    68

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    So I've been struggling with Opera for a while now. I have put in APN, which in my case is proxy as i'm in Bermuda with Digicel (AT&T), did the battery pull, installed the Opear and I'm still getting the Cannot Connect to Internet Error. Is there anything else I need to do???

    I have a 8300, by the way.

  7. #7
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    I left my setting to socket and my apn to default bb and works just fine for me.

  8. #8
    adubrovs's Avatar
    adubrovs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    241C8EB2
    Posts
    68

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    Sorry, can you please elaborate what you mean by "left my setting to socket"? Where is this setting you speak of?

  9. #9
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    Open Opera Mini and go to menu/seetings and scroll down to network.. you should have a choice of socket or http. sockets usally have a faster response then http but its different depending on your area and enviroment your in.

  10. #10
    justin.hylton's Avatar
    justin.hylton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    241AA7C9
    Posts
    76

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I had this problem with opera mini at first.I have a t-mo 8100, I had to go to Options>TCP or Options>Advanced Options>TCP and type in "wap.voicestream.com" in the first line and leave the other 2 blank.

    Ever since then opera mini works great.

    I hope this helps someone.

  11. #11
    truenoob's Avatar
    truenoob no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    what is opera? from wat i hear it allows unlimted internet usage?

  12. #12
    adubrovs's Avatar
    adubrovs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    241C8EB2
    Posts
    68

    Re: Problem when setting up Opera Mini

    Quote Originally Posted by justin.hylton View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I had this problem with opera mini at first.I have a t-mo 8100, I had to go to Options>TCP or Options>Advanced Options>TCP and type in "wap.voicestream.com" in the first line and leave the other 2 blank.

    Ever since then opera mini works great.

    I hope this helps someone.

    That only works for t-mo users. I'm on Digicel (AT&T) network and my APN is proxy. However, it's still not working for me. I'm not really sure what else to do.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •